Steaming Sticky Rice Bangkok Thailand dailyfoodphotography

in #dailyfoodphotography6 years ago (edited)

Here is the set up for steaming a massive amount of sticky rice over at my Thai friends’ house. If you had asked me to guess how sticky rice was cooked, this would not have been my answer. I did not even know it was steamed at all.

Steaming Sticky rice bangkok thailand daily food photography fitinfun.jpg

At the bottom is a charcoal fire that is very hot and fanned often during the process to make it even hotter. Anyone passing buy will fan the fire a few times.

Next comes a cauldron of water and finally that is topped by a basket with a lot of rice in it. This is a cooking basket. When the rice is ready to eat it will be transferred into several other rice baskets we eat from.

It takes very little time to cook this rice – maybe about 20 minutes. It is stirred a lot at the beginning of the cooking time and infrequently near the end. I already showed you the large bucket the rice had soaked in for most of the day, so it is really an all day project.

This delicious rice is worth every bit of the effort even though all I did was take pictures.

You are viewing my entry for the dailyfoodphotography contest by @mininthecity

I use a Canon ELPH160 point and shoot camera for my photos.

fitinfun before and after difference.jpg

If you are obese and do not think you can change, I am here to tell you that you can. I learned skills I enjoy and apply them daily. This is so much better than that way I used to be. Just ask me, and I will help you do this too!

Sort:  

Just seeing this and I am hungry!

lol - You cannot get better rice anywhere. I'm going over for dinner tonight and I cannot wait!

Basket of rice? I wish I am in Thailand so I can have a taste of this. Because this is really the first time I am hearing of this type of rice

It's very delicious! I hope you get a chance to visit here :)

wow just amazing how did you manage all these,looks like its a pretty difficult task.

For me - I do nothing but watch and take photos. The people cooking this make it look so easy, but I know it is not.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50