You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 11/27/18> The nerve of some people… challenging me?

in #dailydose6 years ago
Actually, the Internet existed in the 1980s — it was invented in the 1960s, but was strictly for use only by US government agencies, the military, and universities in those days. It de-regulated, slowly, in the late-1980s and early-1990s. So, if you invested in AOL back in the 1980s, you had a lot of foresight! Bravo! 😃

Not being a Texan nor even have yet to set foot on Texas soil, I had to look up "cutting horses" to see what it meant. I figured it didn't involve a knife, but couldn't imagine what it was... 😂

I'm glad you did this challenge, too! It's a great way to learn a bit more about each other and it fosters a greater sense of community! Thanks for participating! 😁

Sort:  

The foresight was good, even though the investment wasn't. It was started by a bunch of crooks, who bankrupted the initial company and then moved the operation to Virginia and launched the AOL that became the AOL that became very successful and made several people millionaires. I ended up just losing $500 in the deal and have a worthless piece of paper.
Cutting horses are used to separate a cow from the herd of cattle.
I am glad I did too and it looks like I might just have to do some explaining of some of these in some Daily Doses.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60871.89
ETH 2724.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43