Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 11/07/18> She also said, “they think their shit don’t stink.”

in #dailydose5 years ago

I can't pull anything...

I can’t pull anything over on you folks and every now and then I try; just to make sure you folks are on your toes. So my opening line of yesterday’s Daily Dose proclaimed that it was the second Tuesday of November and that it was Election Day. I figured it would just slip right through and it did for all of about one comment and twenty minutes before @abbak7 busted me.

So he won the contest for paying attention and got himself 5 shares of Steem Basic Income. He was really good about it too, he could have just called me dumb ass for not knowing it was only the first Tuesday but instead he told me he would vote on the second Tuesday and threw in the smiley face “ : ) “ thing done with the colon and bracket.

I am not 100% sure...

I’m not 100% sure though if he hadn’t caught it that it wouldn’t have made for at least a day or two, but once his comment was acknowledged by me then the cat was out of the bag. So, my congratulations to @abbak7 for being the winner of my pop up contest.

The results are...

The results are coming in as I type this Daily Dose and so I won’t even comment on the elections. I am trying to get this started a little earlier than I would normally do as it is ten minutes to nine o’clock and I want to get to bed early.

Tuesday at work...

I got to play truck driver Tuesday at work and so by the time I stopped for lunch it was after 2:00 PM. There is a little hamburger joint not far from our office called “Burger Tex” and they do a hell of a business each day at lunch. At two in the afternoon though the crowds are well gone so I slipped in there for the cheeseburger basket and a Coke.

The ladies who...

The ladies who run place are all Vietnamese and they make a good honest living providing good burgers at a fair price. I have been eating there on and off for over the last eleven years and they know me by face but not by name.

I had the whole...

I had the whole place to myself with the exception of one other table. I could have done without those folks in there because in all honesty these seven guys were a bunch of jackasses.

I had never seen them in there before but that shouldn’t be any surprise given that I might only eat there once or twice a month. Those seven guys had finished eating before I had even gotten my food and so when they left and the lady who came to clear the table was near me I asked her about them.

She said they...

She said they eat there about once a week and she also said, “they think their shit don’t stink.” To which I responded that they seemed like a bunch of thugs to me. I didn’t base my comments based on their looks but on their conversations they were having. It wasn’t like I was trying to listen in; they were just that loud while they were talking.

They were comparing...

They were comparing stories on how they intimidate their neighbors. The one guy said that his neighbor a couple doors down from him works at the Lowe’s hardware store near them and his neighbor is so afraid of him that when he goes in the store, and the neighbors sees him, the neighbor quickly goes the other way so he doesn’t have to encounter him. Of course the other six guys all laughed and called the neighbor some crude names.

Another one said ...

Another one said that one of his neighbors is going to push the wrong button with him one of these days and it won’t be a pretty sight when the smoke clears. Did I mention all seven of these guys were packing automatic weapons on their hips?

I don't believe...

I don’t believe I did, but they damn sure were. These thugs all belong to a Houston gang and I guess that being a member of that gang named “SWAT” makes you feel above the law.

I managed to...

I managed to snap a couple pictures of them while they seated at the table and I even thought about screwing with them a little but seven pistol packing jackasses against one unarmed old man is not what I would call real good odds for me. The funny part was I didn’t see any vehicles outside that even looked like a police vehicle so when they left I watched them head out into the parking lot to see what they were riding in.

Were not government ...

It turned out that there were a couple crew cab trucks parked out there. Just plain old white crew cabs with the Koenig box beds on the back like a plumber might have to work out of. The other thing I noticed was that the license plates were not government plates that would normally have “exempt” on them.

These guys all had...

These guys all had Houston Police identification badges hanging on lanyards around their necks so I am sure that they were HPD officers or under a contract with HPD. I wonder if HPD is subcontracting their SWAT team from a private contractor like Black Water or some other mercenary type group?

To me, all these guys looked like ex-military men with military style haircuts.

The license plates...

The license plates on the trucks is what puzzles me, I see a lot of City of Houston vehicles in my daily travels around the area and each and everyone has the exempt government license plates on them. I also know that the City of Houston hires a lot of plumbing companies to do plumbing repairs on city water mains so it might just be that the city is subcontracting their “hit men” work to the private sector.

What do you think...

Sometime in the future I think I will look into this and see just what I can find out. What do you think? Have you heard of any city doing this with their specialized police units? I am curious to know what you think.

Until next time,

Note: Thanks for reading the Daily Dose.
Photo Credits : All photos are the property of @sultnpapper.

Sort:  

Uhhhhhhh. I got up to check my personal election results and they were pretty dismal. I guess throwing the rascals out wasn't the overwhelming theme of this midterm after all.

It does look like both parties can claim national victories. But having the House and Senate under different parties is a good thing in my mind. All the bills that go to the President's desk will have to be compromise bills, which means that there shouldn't be any extreme measures passing anytime soon. I really do think our system works best when it's set up that way.

Except of course, the spending bills. Both parties lose their collective minds when they are parceling out our money. Compromise there seems to be "I'll give you a billion dollar pork project if you'll give me one" rather than "I'll trim a billion here if you'll trim a billion there."

That's pretty interesting about the HPD guys. I know the AZ State Patrol has a small number of undercover officers that drive regular vehicles with regular plates. The reason I know this for a fact is one was right behind my buddy when he hit a woman that pulled out in front of him. He totaled her car and the insurance company rebuilt his bike. Anyway she got out of her car screaming that Ray was speeding and riding crazy. The stater was listed on the accident report as a witness who swore that Ray wasn't speeding OR driving crazy. But he asked Ray not to reveal to anybody that he WAS a State Patrolman.

Ray's only real injury was a broken wrist that he got staying on the front brake through impact. He flew over his windshield, bounced off the top of her car and lit on his feet. The cop's first move was to get Ray to sit down.

And for the record, we rigged a lever on his throttle of another motorcycle so he was back to riding in two days. The cast left him enough finger room to pull the brake and the lever let him smoothly apply throttle.

One more question: Does anybody around there call a CB basket a 'gut bomb'? That was the common term in Eastern Washington.

I fear the rascals are not thrown out, but it's not lack of trying on our part.

Never heard the CB basket being called the 'gut bomb' but I could see how it could be.
My results were actually pretty good here thanks to the "Beto effect" here in Texas. With Beto challenging Cruz for the senate seat that had people voting strait party tickets for the most part. The county I live in has Houston in it and the demographics of Houston have been slowing changing from red to blue so Beto got the people in Houston to hit the polls hard.
Prior to this election, about 1/3 of the county wide elected officials were dems and 2/3 republicans. All the county wide elected officials are now dems so the republicans got their hats handed to them and shown the exit doors.
I am glad it happened too, especially the county judge Ed Emmit. A few years ago we had a referendum on a ballot to tear down the old original Astro Dome and it passed overwhelmingly . But the county judge refused to have the dome torn down, and had some group get it listed as a historical building after the vote to tear it down had already been had.
I have held that against him since then and I even thought as I was voting on Friday it would be good if he got the boot for not living up to what the voters had said they wanted done.
There are a bunch of judges looking for work now too, all the judges were republican and they all got their pink slips too on Tuesday night. In a way it is sad that they caught up in the Beto effect but who is to say they didn't get in to office the same way, on the vote of some other higher up race and straight party ticket vote.
In the judge Emmit case, he is being replaced by a 27 year old female with an Hispanic last name of "Hidalgo" I think, or something like that. I have no idea what her credentials are, but she had the one thing going for her that Ed didn't, she wasn't the incumbent. I was all about change and so in the local political races we got some change.
Other than that I had one race that I voted republican and that guy did win named Dan Crenshaw, he won the seat for congress that had been help by a republican who did not seek re-election.
The state wide offices are all still controlled by the republicans so nothing changed there. The republicans need to pay attention, Cruz barely got re-elected and that should be a wake up call that things are changing and they might just need to start doing what the people say.

Well, I forgot to hit the post button so the original comment was just laying here. I've commented on the daily dose so I'm not going to punch post and do a basic repeat.

Thanks for stopping by!

I am sure this election will generate so much discussion, discussion I will stay away from, it sounds to me like the lady described this group well, I will be intrigued to see what you find out in your research

I need to search the city of Houston bids and see if they have any past bids for "security services" and see if something sort of matches up. But I am pretty busy right now and just don't have the time.

Understandable my friend

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 305 (11/07/18)

sir sultnpapper! very interesting indeed. pretty creepy too but it wouldn't surprise me if they are private hires. I've never heard of this but doesn't it sound about right? bunch of jackasses for sure.

That is truly horrible. They look quite overweight though - would they be fit enough to be working for the police? The khaki outfits suggest one of those private contracters.

Police here don't need to be fit or in any type of decent shape, most criminals can't out run a bullet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63157.91
ETH 3096.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91