You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/21/18> A new school year and … the end of a career.

in #dailydose6 years ago

I think @zen-art could explain why a helium balloon doesn't crash to earth (I only have a vague memory about mass x gravity from my physics class, so I'd better not try...) However I get your point and I'm in complete agreement. Pupils are taught how to be obedient and compliant workers, not to think for themselves. We are taught to think for ourselves, but only within certain boundaries. We are taught to think about which political party might suit us, not about whether the political system is corrupt. We are taught to think about how to add up our money, but not how to invest it. If you're programming someone you have to fill their mind, so that they don't have the capacity to think for themselves.

Sort:  

Yes, @zen-art can explain, and she will... in a post...soon... For now, spoiler alert: buoyancy.
Interesting read @sultnpapper btw, I agree that we have a wrong approach when it comes to educating. I always say that we have to teach kids how to think, not what to think. When we teach them how to think, we teach them not to be sheep. The reason why we are not teaching them that is because politicians need sheep, not people. Like you said, dumb down, and yes, it is for a reason. Imagine how the world would look like if people were able to think, not much profit there for certain groups, is it?

I am aware of buoyancy , gravity is the one I am interested in.
I am glad we agree on that we both believe that education officials have taken the wrong approach on educating.
Sheep have plenty of wool to be pulled over their eyes , thinking people have not so much. It isn't a secret that the rich factory owners drove education to where it is today, the politicians just continue to capitalize on it. Certain groups surely would suffer if more people did in fact know how to think and made the effort to do so.

I like the way you put it @sultnpapper - yes, sheep have plenty of wool to be pulled over their eyes. I think we're all on the same page :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58097.21
ETH 2581.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41