You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/02/18> I sure as hell didn’t see this coming…. started with fraud and ended in spying.

in #dailydose6 years ago

is this smart TV, even when it is turned off, connecting to my computers by wi-fi and checking what I am watching on the computer

Not exactly, but the smart TV will be using data Google has collected through other means once it connects back to the internet. However, it seems you viewed those videos in a way that Google should not have been able to pick up on. Perhaps it figured out how to tie the identities together using IP addresses or some other cookie. On your older computer did you log into YouTube as well? Cause that would already be enough to collect the data.

Sort:  

Yes, I watched some videos on Monday and Tuesday night on the old computer in this hotel room but never turned the TV on until Wednesday night while I was writing today's daily dose.
I think it tied the name and IP's through the log in process to the internet, name and room # requirement would be my guess. I might just try a fictitious name and room number next time and see what happens. It does make you wonder just how much stuff is being collected and why.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64870.15
ETH 3489.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54