You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Seasoned with Sult N Papper 02/25/19> Slavery is alive and well in the United States and no one seems to care…

in #dailydose5 years ago (edited)

I'd have a couple of really modest disagreements, but only on the edges. One would be about the Civil War and the causes and conditions that we can go into one day if you like, but the fact is (for me) that slavery played a part but was not the primary reason for the war. That heroic stance was adopted post war.

In truth Bobby Lee had the war won after the first battle of Bull Run and he missed one of the few opportunities in his career. You see, the North fought to win the war (conquer territory) and the South fought to not lose the war (hold territory).

Lincoln and Grant knew that numbers were on their side.

Did you know that there was a published report to the Southern Leadership in 1863 that proposed freeing and arming the slaves? And that the General (an Irish citizen named Kelly) was summarily, disgraced and deported? That all 8 known copies of said report were seized and destroyed? That one certified copy was not destroyed and discovered in the 1960s AND verified?

So, now I'm down a rabbit hole.

I have had the secretary demand payment of me. It's issued in the form of a Federal Tax Lien, and let me tell you what: That's a nasty thing to run into. NASTY. For one thing the burden of proof is entirely on the tax payer and it's a vile rat hole.

The whole truth is that for about 20 years I had to follow section 26 to the letter as applied by the IRS. That was just to keep me out of jail. Pure and simple. You know you are in trouble when your 'advisor' (as appointed by the secretary) tells you to bring your toothbrush to the next appointment.

So, yeah. I really do agree with the main thrust of your article. I'd maybe list most of us as 'indentured servants' because there is at least a small article of acquiescence to the IRS at some point. I stood on the edge where I was looking at true Slavery, Federal Prison, and I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have been sent to one of those places where I needed my golf clubs to get along. :) I took the easier, softer road.

Thanks for a great article. I really do appreciate it.

Sort:  

I accept disagreements with open arms Tom but you know that already. I hadn't heard the story of Gen. Kelly and his plan but it might have served the South to have listened to him a little closer instead of running him out of the country.
The great thing about rabbit holes is that you never really know what you are going to find, plus rabbits are good eating and if get enough of them they make an awesome fur jacket.
Sorry to hear about your IRS experience and that ordeal. One thing is for sure, they don't let up once they sink their fangs into you, they are like a baby copper head snake, they don't know how to regulate their venom so they latch on and keep pumping it out.
Good to know you managed to avoid a stay at one of the Club Feds, chances are you wouldn't have gotten a room at one of their five star properties.
Thanks for the continued support, very much appreciated my friend.

Oh, man. It was an ordeal. They were convinced I was a drug dealer. I wasn't. I was actually dealing wheat. But they estimated my income at $1 million for a couple of years and whacked me with a 500k lien. I was 25. In order to fight it I'd have had to give up a couple people that helped me in my scheme. I couldn't do it.

And for the record, I really never made $20 k. But I ran about 100k through a bank account one year. I was young and dumb.

Did get the swat/dope team to my place a couple of times :) That was exciting...

I think the South would have won the war had they done that. That would have taken the heart out of the North. Or if Bobby Lee would have taken Philly in '63.

I'm not so sure that would have been a good thing in the long term.

Well wheat is a pretty dangerous substance too according to some medical professionals so .... back when you were 25 $1 million was a whole bunch of money, amazing how running $100K through the bank equals $1 million in earnings in the governments eyes. With math like that it is no wonder why this country has been bankrupt for the last century and we are passing around IOU's pretending them to be money.
It is funny to think about if the south had won the war, the nations capital would probably be in Atlanta or Birmingham.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62963.68
ETH 3115.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89