You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/21/18> A new school year and … the end of a career.

in #dailydose6 years ago

I am a product of 15 continuous years in said institutions. I learned perilously little in that time. I memorized a lot of shit (sorry, I have no other word for it) and got decent grades because I could. I wasn't an honor student by any means and I was a bored, ornery kid. And now, 50 years later, I remember very little of the stuff I memorized.

But I have learned. I am a reader, have been all my life. Probably why I was bored in school. Do you know that 30% of Americans never read another book after they leave school? And that 50% read less than 10? They get their continuing education from the TV. A scary thought all by itself.

We could argue gravity and the rotation rate, and I'll just say that the math seems to check out from my perspective. I am a big fan of mathematics.

All that said, my good buddy Erv did much of what your brother did. Except that Erv never stopped questioning for an instant (I don't think he's capable). His most recent foray back into education didn't end well and Monday he is starting in a project aimed at making lives better for 'mentally challenged' individuals. It'll be interesting to see how he does. I'm guessing those young people will actually learn some things if he has his way :)

Sort:  

Good for Erv, I wish him well in that new endeavor.
Math is a interesting subject and it always seems "they" can get math to check out correctly but when "they" do make it check out it is always with a slight little change that has to be made with regard to distance, time, or speed in a lot of cases, which are all variables. So as long as you have the liberty to change the variables, you should be able to get the math to correspond to what ever it is that a person is trying to prove mathematically.
If memory serves me correctly the distances between the sun, earth and moon have changed at least three different times that I can vaguely remember since we changed from a fixed stationary planet Earth that was the center of our solar system and went to the system we currently have where we are flying through space, orbiting the sun and the moon orbiting the Earth.
I guess the good part is that we could both look at a glass of water that was half full and we might differ on whether it was half full or half empty and that would be based on our perspective. The good part is we both see it and agree it is a glass and has water in it, the rest is just ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43