You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 01/07/19> Listen up computer manufacturers I’m talking to you; especially you Michael Dell.

in #dailydose6 years ago

Nice post. You laid out the case for standardization very nicely. The problem being that every manufacturer thinks that their sales hinge on their 'proprietary' items. Android phones seem to have proved that is not the case. They designed their phones to take the absolutely standard USB plug and can be charged off damn near anything. Apple, on the other hand has 'firewire' connectivity. Do they really think people buy their phones because they already have a USB to firewire cable?

When I got my apple phone (a gift-I certainly wouldn't pay that freight) I bought a three pack of independent supplied charge wires. I did pay the extra and got braided and upgraded wire. Because I KNOW they are going to fail in normal use and don't want to be held hostage by the company for an emergency wire. Those are damn good wires I bought because I still have 2 spares after a year and a half of use. Includes a couple of months on Connie so I might say 'hard use'.

Anyway, Henry Ford proved that you could still make a fine return with standardized stuff. Until Henry and the King of Sweeden set the standard for bolt head sizes you had to own manufacturer's wrenches to work on a specific brand. It seems that little experiment paid off ok.

My Inspirion is only 2 years old, and the original charger is still holding up pretty well. I really only use it when I travel, it has a pocket in a bag where it lives full time, and I really do look out for it. But I concur with your design ideas and the idea that standards could and should be applied.

Here's hoping somebody puts the bug in your fellow Texan's ear and that particular irritation goes away in the near future.

Sort:  

Thanks Tom, it just makes sense to make that cord detachable and replaceable since it is the piece that fails most often. Far to many chargers end up trashed because the frayed wires end up touching and shorting the transformers.
The folks in China I am sure are happy with how things are since they make probably 95% of all the chargers. They might not be happy with the change but to bad , so sad.
Braided wire is a lot stronger and better than just plain stranded wire which is used in most cords. So that was a smart move on your part to get that upgraded wire.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59244.75
ETH 2651.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49