Today's #DailyChicken: A chick who don't need no man! ;D

in #dailychicken6 years ago


Good morning all! I know Mondays are tough, but here we are! Today's #DailyChicken!



P1080382.jpg

This lovely lady is a Danish brown leghorn. She is the only hen from a batch of eggs purchased on ebay. I wanted to add some genetics to my flock, and admittedly, I was hoping for more than one hen, but oh well. At least we have her.


There is only one problem though. She is not interested in any of the roosters. Several have come and gone, and this sly vixen will not allow anyone to breed with her! I periodically check her eggs for fertility, and nope! Never a fertile egg! I've seen the roosters pursue her, but she is much too smart and fast for them.
 
We have a new, young, handsome rooster maturing now, though, and I am hoping that in the spring, she will relent and let us have some fertile eggs! The whole reason I bought the leghorn eggs was to add the genetics to my mixed flock, and I can't do that without being able to hatch some eggs.
 
She is a great layer though, of lovely, white eggs. Actually, she is my ONLY white-egg layer. I love her anyway, even if she never does let a rooster near her.


P1080381.jpg


page-break-1024x256.png

Thanks for stopping by to check out my #DailyChicken! ♥ Feel free to drop links to your #DailyChicken posts in the comments and I'll check them out!


Thanks @mariannewest for the fun tag idea!



page-break-1024x256.png

Badge comp.png

Creative Commons License
This work by @SquishySquid is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License.

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Well, all I can say is good luck to the young'un.

Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Catweasel-c.png

Ha ha this is so funny! She is way too high class for any of them! She looks like she struts her stuff daily lol! I enjoyed reading this and I do hope she gives that new young handsome a chance! 😄

I may or may not be speaking from personal experience and will deny any specific allegations.

Sooner or later she'll give in. They ALL do. You just have to hope one of the good guys is standing around when she decides to see what all the fuss is about.

I think.

Hahaha! Well, I sure hope so, anyway! Never had one hold out this darn long!
I really want to hatch some of her eggs!
We shall see. Hopefully this spring she'll give in, and if so, you know Ill update everyone and post about it, haha!

She is a cute one and hopefully she will get less picky with time :)

Thanks!! Haha, I sure hope so!

She's a good-looking chick! I sometimes buy Leghorn eggs, and they are usually light blue-grey or dark brown. They must be from a different type of Leghorn maybe? Not that I really mind the colour, as long as they taste nice!

I dont know what kind of chicken you are getting eggs from! Everywhere I have read and seen, leghorns only lay white eggs. Huh! Id love to see what they look like.
So true, color doesnt matter, they are all delicious inside. :D

I'm probably getting mixed up with another chicken breed, haha. Now you mention it, I think they maybe are white but come in a blue box.

Bah ha ha! Oh well, I bet they are delicious either way! :D

They're funny, when they won't tolerate a rooster. I like those hens with high standards, or high opinions of themself. You think you can have a piece of this? You got another think coming, mister!

That is EXACTLY what she is saying, haha! No one has successfully wooed this lady yet... Shes been around for about 2 years now, and there have been a slew of roosters... so I kinda doubt anything will happen at this point. Unfortunately. I was hoping to see what kind of cross that would turn out to be.

She's waiting for Mister Right.

Hope the new boy will be handsome enough for her!

Haha thanks, I sure hope so!

She is picky, she will get over it :) Good luck 💚

Man I hope so! I thought she would have by now! Time will tell... :D

This has to be one of the cutest stories I've read here on the SteemVerse
All the best with the mating :D

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 377 (01/21/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32