Managing Scaly Leg Mite with Coconut Oil

in #dailychicken5 years ago

I've tried a number of procedures to control scaly leg mite in my flock (bathing with insecticidal soap and vaseline, just vaseline), but as my flock grows, I've tried a new method, and so far so good. It's much faster to dip in oil than to smear vaseline, and the two are comparably priced. I feel much better about using a natural and edible product.

I heat up the pint of oil in a saucepan so it's liquid, and then grab chickens and dip their feet. Every morning before breakfast, I go through a whole coop, pulling out one chicken at a time. Everyone gets treated, and every few days, they repeat.

IMGP2430.JPG One leg...
IMGP2432.JPG Now the other...
They get real quiet when I dip their feet.
I'm not sure about this, but it's nice and warm.
IMGP2434.JPG
Drip dry.

Then I set them down and they run off to eat.
IMGP2439.JPG
Chris is a biiiiig boy.
IMGP2443.JPG Good thing he's gentle.

IMGP2477.JPG Here's a little Silkie getting oiled. Instead of dipping their little feather duster feet in the oil, I use a spoon to pour over.
IMGP2478.JPG The oil is starting to harden. Every morning it's a race to finish a coop-full before the oil thickens again in the cold.
IMGP2528.JPG
This is what happens when I say "Here, hold this chicken for a minute, would you?"

Now the oil is not dippable anymore. Someone gets greasy feet.
IMGP2534.JPG

Sort:  

I am not familiar with scaly leg mite. I will have to look that up! It's nice your chickens are tame enough to treat them like that. We've never had cooperative chickens. Just crazy birds.

Very very common thing, makes their legs look like dusty, or when it gets worse, their scales stand up and there's an encrustation. Silkies are especially prone. I didn't say that, did I - it's treatable by feeding them Ivermectin, which is out for organics.
They aren't very tame:) It's a rodeo. Once grabbed, they settle down.

Ha ha! I've participated in a few chicken rodeos, but never thought to hang that label off it. Love it!

Glad it's working! Ive been lucky and not had to deal with scaly leg mites.
If that seems like it needs help working quicker, I bet adding neem oil to the coconut would work wonders. :D

ah, neem, yes. Would it sting them? They often have micro wounds on their feet.

Nope, it shouldnt. I use neem as an antiseptic on our (people) injuries, and it doesnt sting us.

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25