Sort:  

He is a handsome boy :) I have no idea what kind he is. I took an incubating class and bought 40 farmyard eggs from a local chicken breeder who has tons of breeds. When she doesn't sell a girl by the first molt, she puts them all with an assortment of roosters in a big enclosure and sells the eggs for $1 each - compared to $5 to $20 ea for the rarer breeds.
He is one of the 40 :)

$1 a pop sounds like a good deal, especially when compared to $40.

The price range in chickens is surprising to me. There's a local guy on Craigslist selling Wyandotte/Amaracauna mix pullets for $15 and tractor supply sells their "Americana" mix breed pullets for $42 a pop!

Is there that much work involved in raising chicks? They sell their chicks for $3.50 each.

Well, if you get day-olds, it really depends on the breed how much they are going to cost. I got eggs and for some of the rare breeds, the fertile egg was that expensive.

She had a lot of breeds that are very uncommon these days and age. All heritage birds.

When I incubated them, the machine I had did the turning on a regular basis. I did some later for a friend in a smaller incubator and I had to turn them by hand every few hours. You have to make sure that the temps and humidity are right.
then, it is very cool to watch them hatch. After, you have to protect them from any kind of draft and make sure they don't get too cold.
I should do a post about it.
when they were little, I picked each of them up twice a day and made sure that they didn't have dried up poop on their behind and cleaned their feet if they had stepped into something that hang on.
I had them in the garage which is more like a room and they made this fine dust - I had to clean everything :)
Anyway - common breed day-olds you should be able to get for $5 to $10. the older they are, the more they are going to cost. You are paying for all the food they ate and the real estate they occupied :)

And thank you for listening to the podcast!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38