Rainy day chicken time

I've said it a hundred times if I've said it once: I need me some chicken time every day.

Today was no different, and I had my helper Farmer Sam with me. This is an outside kid. Inside, his energy is nuts. Outside, it shines! Kinda like his old man.

Today on chicken time we enjoyed the fact that the rain hasn't ruined the chicken feed! Guess the tarps are working :)

IMG_20181017_081405252.jpg

Rain doesn't ruin it because of the tarp, chickens don't ruin it because of the raised platform. Score!

We moved the big branches in the big run so the birds could climb on em without being in the rain. They like getting up on the branches during the day, but I don't imagine they like getting all wet.

IMG_20181017_182725588.jpg

Not much, but it's something to do. An excuse to get outside and a little something to post about on a boring day, if nothing else. Sam and I both do good with a little outside time.

I need a project.

Y'all have a good evening.

Stay relevant

Nate

Sort:  

I don't think the rain would ruin the feed, but perhaps it would make a mess in your feeders. The chickens will still eat it off of the ground. We will throw some feed out in the run for them to peck at, especially if we don't have any kitchen leftovers to give them for the day. Have you read about soaking the chicken feed? We have not done this, but apparently some folks soak the feed on purpose and it makes more feed so the chickens eat less of it. It does sound interesting and I was thinking of giving it a try, but haven't gotten the energy to do the project. Have a good day!

I think we got picky chickens, cause they won't mess with wet feed in a container. Plus, it tends to mold surprisingly fast!

I've not heard of soaking the feed, but I've heard of sprouting sunflower seeds for your birds. I keep meaning to try it but other financial things keep popping up, so I haven't yet. If you get up the energy to try, let me know how it goes, that sounds pretty cool :)

howdy there nateonsteemit! Hey I think you'd be bored stiff without those chickens, how did you ever get along without them before? lol.

I was! And I posted about politics before that lol

I need something new to post about, I know. New projects inbound next week that are not chicken-related.

oh ok, well I think the chickens are cool to post about, it's cool to watch them grow up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82