Daily Chicken: The Problem is The Solution

Some of y'all know my story with my precious chickens.

IMG_20180913_192158170.jpg

Friday night, as I was out of town for a farming conference, the last two got killed by a predator.

As I'm over here racking my brain over how to use my money to beef up my coop and run, it donned on me that the problem is the solution. I need to slow down and stop being so reactive.

My original solution was to bury cinder blocks around the walls of the run, overlap chain link over the cinder blocks and the pallets that make up my run walls, and possibly add electric fence. The electric fence would be an expensive last resort to add onto all the labor intensive first plan.

IMG_20180918_090327631.jpg

Another solution I came to was getting a dog. After thinking long and hard about that, I am not getting a dog. I can't give a dog a good enough life right now, so I'm not getting one. I don't want to feed one, house it, or compost it's manure right now.

I've been thinking on all this since the first chicken got killed. I've created a high concentration of tasty, unprotected prey animals. They need protection from part of the system.

IMG_20181209_104127049.jpg

So for a while, I've been brooding on the permaculture principle that "the problem is the solution." I've been looking for ways to apply it to other peoples' problems, and it is becoming more and more obvious to me in every case. Listening to Jack Spirko's Survival Podcast episode on permaculture design for the fourth time and he reminded me that people are part of natural systems.

Duh, Nate! You're part of the system, you dummy!

With that, wheels got turning, and I decided that when I get the new chickens, I'm gonna sleep outside with them.

IMG_20190127_115727610.jpg

Wait, no, that's not gonna work... I work when they sleep. So I need to be able to protect these things while they sleep. That's when bad things have been happening. In analyzing the problem, I had to step back and observe my system here. Here's what I observed:

  1. I have a chicken coop and a chicken run.
  2. My chickens range, fertilize, and eat from my small food forest.

Which begs the question: Nate, why the hell do you have a chicken run if they safely range the forest? The forest is the run!

So there I was, thinking of a way to make my chicken run more secure, but the chicken run is part of the problem. Realizing this helped me come to the solution that I don't need to dig another thirty five feet of trench to bury expensive concrete blocks to secure my run. I need to scrap the run and make the coop secure.

So what I think I'm gonna do is get a small fence energizer, jack my coop up off the ground, and put polywire around the coop where these critters can't get in. Since the coop is the place they're dying, the run isn't what needs secured. DUH!

Getting things figured out, and chickens will be inbound, cause I miss em bad. My system is broken, and I need it fixed. Big progress coming up. I'm gonna have me some big time integrated permaculture eggs.

Hold my beer.

All action for the good of all.

Nate.


coopbadgecontributor.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

video15501788461.gif
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!

If you'd like to support my projects beyond the upvote, please consider a crypto donation to the cause!

BTC:
1HXGAAddYNZz4YivHGDxgsN5YsvzXVHtaY
LTC:
M8sogv2rZVVeFyT96UgheGKZNqau9o4yCT
ETH:
0x8B3b8Ed907CfB63ddA941e42534969Cad022d67d
ZEC:
t1ZjMEF6qUTiYDf5a8RvN9U93bQ31SbPMeM
BCH:
qzuvwvfweqxge58475aqra65efj2yzad056vhzr3cz
ETC:
0xfA9851AeaC9D4f319b7679212389E3DdED9BC305
BAT
0xB70a3B8c2f8288E926fD1D03721f03D9128a726B
ETN
etnkMMQGh32cdcrWpMpjipNXxVMyxg9dx3CvSB6epQjNALcfUhVrMqyDTnmcVHcprPBkFZPj7xeCxdsrtU5mRn699G5y7hqpY5

Some of these are exchange addresses so that I'll get notifications of deposits. From there, the funds will either be moved to wallets that I control, exchanged for steem to boost my influence here, or to USD to fund a project.

Buying crypto with fiat? Consider using my coinbase referral link and we'll both get $10 in Bitcoin for free when you buy it sell $100 worth of crypto! An automatic 10% return is a good hedge in bear markets.

Sort:  

I'm so sorry about your babies!

Thanks 💚

Probably won't be the last time. There's lots to learn still. In our first year, this is really the only thing that's gone wrong.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am so sorry you've lost your chickens. That is always such a sad thing. It would seem that everything likes to eat chickens (even dogs - Molly's nickname is chicken killer). We don't clip our chicken's wings for that reason, don't want to impede them from any chances they have to escape predators. Eventually, you'll get all the kinks worked out - its always unique for everyone as we are all dealing with different environments, structures, and predators.

I'm thinking a smaller batch of chickens when I start rebuilding. Don't wanna put 15 out there and find out that I left a hole in the system.

Posted using Partiko Android

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I'm so sorry to hear the predator managed to get them all. How are the kids coping with the loss? I've highlighted this post in the Homesteading - Natural Living newsletter. I hope you get the coop nice and secure and don't have to go through this again.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thanks @minismallholding! The kids are alright, but everyone definitely misses the girls.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60603.53
ETH 2702.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44