Daily chicken November 19

In all the bustle of the carbonaceous banditry this morning, I forgot to feed the birds. I ended up being awake for 30 hours by the time I finally got to bed.

They managed though, as all the bedding was extra well turned today when I got out there and their interest in food wasn't extreme, with a couple not even caring. There's a lot of spilled food in the bedding, so I guess they fared pretty well. Encouraging. I want all the fertile soil!

Shortly after eating, they all lined up to go to bed... Six big chickens in one little tote. I think this weekend is the weekend they start sleeping with the other birds. I'm ready not to have two coops to clean up, and they're ready to sleep in the big house.

Hope y'all had an awesome Monday! Ours turned out pretty good.

Stay relevant

Nate


Join Us On Discord

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I thought you'd already integrated them, a while back....

Around here it would be hard to not feed birds. there's so much loud commentary on the service, it can't be ignored!

Their runs are together, but I let the little birds keep sleeping in the place they're comfortable. They've continued sleeping where they used to. Kind of a slow easy integration.

Idk if it's normal or not, but I spread out a little feed in the leaves intentionally when I feed. That way they scratch more and have a bit of a buffer for days like today. That, plus whatever they spill held them over pretty well today. The leaves looked so good all turned up, and they felt really awesome to step on.

Posted using Partiko Android

Having them scratch is a plus.

But be aware that feeding on the ground in an area that is not rotated away from for at least 30 days can bring on internal parasite problems.... I know, chickens are always pecking at the ground anyways. Feeding pumpkins with their seeds can help with this.

Another thing to watch for is wet feed. It molds really fast.....

Ha! howdy sir nateonsteemit! Those chickens are so healthy and they're going to produce so many eggs! great job.

Thanks man! We're hoping so. So far they're doing great and are already a blessing even before they're producing, so that'll just be the blessing that overflows our cup when they do.

Posted using Partiko Android

haha, I understand sir, they have already been so much fun and entertaining.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94