Daily chicken December 23

in #dailychicken6 years ago (edited)

We call her the Christmas Killer. The Serpentine Assassin. The Cold Hard Clucker.

We call her...

Big Red

IMG_20181223_111509931.jpg

See, I'd heard tales of the enmity between chooks and snakes, but never observed it. So when I found a snake under a leaf bag, my mind imediately wondered about the tales.

At first I thought nothing would happen. I put in the snake and Koekoek and the Goldys had little interest. Then came Roo and Red. Mama and Turkey got in on the action, and soon there was a riot!

Passed and pulled between chooks, whoever possessed the creature clucked triumphantly that it had rescued the entire flock. During one such victory parade, Red dealt the final blow. Stealing the vermin from Turkey, she ran off and gave it a final shake before she gobbled it down whole like fetuccini.

That was pretty cool to watch...

Got snakes at your place? Might look into getting some chooks. ;)

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


cooplogowebsite.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPUNtMaZahB7oRoHdj6MJLjv8qH3AC8YhazjBxUjdbMw38yfKNg13WeaaBUk3BEt4xeUb8SyHVY.png
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


Join us on the GHSC Discord and follow @ghscollective to become part of a global network of homesteaders!

Sort:  

tumblr_o1l9oxxDXY1u8jy4io2_400.gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

Woah. 😂 Yah makes you wonder how far removed birds really are from the velociraptor.
Crazy.

They're essentially the same exact thing. You can see it when you look in their eyes.

Whenever I observe chickens in this mode, I am glad they are less than knee high ;)

Definitely! We'd be in trouble.

You might be interested in my post from yesterday on Solstice. Blessings to you and your family!

Ooh, I liked it! Thanks for pointing me that way, I guess I wasn't following you before.

Yup, definitely don't want to pass out in a chicken coop or a pig pen. You WILL be dinner...

Really? They'll legit eat a person?

Yup, if you are unconscious, they will peck at you, as your one already does...

Woah... Maybe I need to respect them a little differently. I never thought of them that way.

For some reason this post reminds me of the time (very rare for me) that I went into my chicken yard with freshly painted red toenails. The chickens seemed to think they were bright red cherries or some other yummy tidbit. I got my exercise that day.

Hahahaha my chooks love to peck at my freckles, burns, and scars. Had one eat a scab off a fresh burn. Wasn't the best feeling

Ouch! I'm over Rhode Island Reds - the extra egg production is not worth not being able to turn my back on one.

I've heard they're mean birds lol

The one that got me is a dominickers. My sweet girl Koekoek.

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 20000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yup, they will catch mice, frogs, snakes, anything they can eat. Our old pet, Ernie used to steal the mice from the cats when the cats caught them. The cats were terrified of her....

Really? Cats scared of chickens? I've caught a cat around our coop a couple times, it didn't act scared of the birds.

That's because they hadn't chased it and stolen its mouse....

So why do they chase it down for the mouse? Are they that hungry, or do they hate mice that bad?

Because she was a bossy bold old bird.... And they NEED animal protein....

ha! wow sir nateonsteemit that is wild. That's good to know though, I bet they thin out all kinds of critters. like scorpions!

Oh man, I bet they'd do genocide on your scorpions! The only issue I could see coming from that is an influx of crickets and grasshoppers in the absence of scorpions predation, but chooks would fix those pest issues too! As well as fertilizing your yard and giving you eggs! So many benefits from just a few little birds!

Howdy sir nateonsteemit! You're right, I think they're a great investment. Do you have a Christmas break from work or just until Wednesday?

I think I go back the evening of the first, but I'm not entirely sure lol I'm not worrying about it til then :)

Oh wow, lol!
I cant help but feel bad for the snake though, I have a soft spot for those.
Ive seen this also, however. Those birds really love to hunt! I saw one catch a snake that I was SURE was too long for her, but after 10 painful, gaggy minutes, she choked the whole thing down. They also go after mice and lizards... People dont realize what hunters these things are!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63376.09
ETH 2692.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59