#4 Daily Life Evolutions

in #daily7 years ago

Why are we paying large amounts of money to cable companies to watch entertaining shows when we still have to endure commercials. I remember growing up and all that existed was wireless TV, channels 2,4,5,7,9, 11 and 13 (PBS). Some places had around ten channels and some less. We watched commercials without pain. I didn't mind seeing my favorite cereal with the red dye in it or what toy I was going to get for free to choke on that weekend. TV was free in a sense and we watched commercials so that the stations could earn money to get us the entertainment.

Now, I pay over $200 for a lot of channels that I mostly don't want, shopping channels for instance, and I have to watch commercials that are not fun to watch. Moreover, it seems there are so many more commercials than in the past and the better the show you are watching the more commercials they throw in.

I know, use a recorder. I do for the shows I know I want to watch, a very small amount. But watching random TV for the fun of it or something like news (rarely anymore) I feel compelled to change the channel when the commercials start. And just to piss me off more, when flipping channels, trying to run away from the commercials, I've found that that many commercials are scheduled to run at the same time. I know, sounds paranoid and conspiracy worthy. Look for yourself.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bookere! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59