You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 08/09/18> Talk about perfect timing… “get me a guzbucking sledge hammer”.

in #daikydose6 years ago

Huh. Flat spot in the starter. Nice catch by Bob.

My best buddy had a '64 El Camino with 327 cid motor and factory 4 speed. It was the nastiest thing around for a couple of years, but had a weakness. That Muncie trans had external shift rods and they would need to be 'readjusted' every now and again. He carried the right sized hammer in the little tool tray right behind the driver. As the linkage was on the right I probably adjusted the rods more often than he did.

We spent a fair amount of time trying to get better traction for that elky. All the early speed just went up in smoke if you didn't feather the clutch something awful. Never did quite get it right. But it was still bad fast.

Anyway, I'm glad your boy got his problem dx'd, and maybe learned a little something too. That there are experts that can make simple work of a problem that is beyond me. And it goes on forever.

I've got a "Grandpa Out Of The Car" story for another day...

Thanks

Sort:  

I loved the old el camino , Karen, from the rear view mirror story had the "69 SS el camino. triple black with silver stripes. It was the big block motor but an automatic. That was a great car. That back bed was prefect for snacking and watching the stars at night.
Bob has been fixing cars for at least 40 years that I know of and he stays plenty busy. It had been so long since I had run across a starter problem and having to deal with all the comupter stuff on the van recently and his security system on the Z I naturally was going down those paths.
Can't wait for your Grandpa story out of the car edition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42