Having Fun At Work - Surfer Taking Over The Green Houses 🌶️

in #daddysgirl7 years ago (edited)

'People who are stressed, do something wrong. They don't enjoy their jobs.' - Karl Lagerfeld

These are wise words, Karl! But you must admit one thing: it's a great gift to find pleasure in something that even pays your bills. Don't you think? So let's be grateful.

Dad left for a business trip and I'm alone with the whole business for two days. What does the mouse do when the cat is not at home? Yip. Dance! :-)

Daddy's Girl

To those who are new to my blog: I still don't earn my money through surfing.

But that's actually not an issue. I love what I do. I'm kind of a farmer, a hot pepper and tomato farmer to be precise. 

15 years ago, my dad founded a company that produces and exports seeds on an international level. Today we provide the largest amount of hot pepper seeds in the world and deliver them to clients all over the planet.

Last summer I quit my office job in order to get into my dad's buiness. 

Everything was completely new to me which was actually a big plus. I love trying new things!

Dad showed me everything I needed to know to be able to run the business on my own just in case he had to leave for a couple of days. I learned fast even though it's almost impossible to achieve the knowledge he has. His brain is a living dictionary, it's amazing! 

One of the things I like most about working with my dad is the fact that he has an incredible personality and I feel blessed to learn from him every single day.

This picture was taken yesterday in the afternoon.

This one, too. 

It was incredibly hot (like 30 degrees Celsius or more), so I decided to refresh myself a bit. At that point of time I had still no idea that everything was supposed to go wrong the next day...

Did you know that the chance of the bread falling with the buttered side down is directly proportional to the cost of the carpet? 

It's called Murphy's Law.

Well I learned the hard way who Murphy is today's morning. When I arrived at the green houses I first checked the water tank which is filled automatically over night. Well usually it's like that.

My heart stopped beating when I looked into the tank. It was half empty. OMG!

I tried to switch on the according water pumps, but nothing happened.

Excellent. I had no other opportunities than calling dad in order to explain my problem. After some instructions through the phone we figured out that the water supply from the outside was dead. There was no water arriving at the green houses at all. 

So dad told me to wait while he wanted to call the person who is responsible for the pipelines and supply.

After a while that person arrived at the green houses. He apologized for the inconveniences and told me that the water supply for our area had been switched off by mistake last night, but that everything was running well now.

Even though there was water in the hoses again, the pump that runs our filter system was broken. Some pieces burned through when the pipes were drained dry. 

Why again did that need to happen while dad was away? Ah, because of Murphy...

To make the story short: we needed to change the mentioned pump, otherwise I wouldn't have been able to water the plants. It took me half of my day to fix it, but then everything was running as it should. 

Look what Dad commented on my related FB post:

Translation: The costs for the here demonstrated loss of water can be balanced with Bitcoins, if this is more comfortable for you hahaha.

I love him still.

So be careful having fun at work and talking about it in social media. Your boss may be around commenting :-)

Best of luck,
Marly - 

PS: Who to follow today? @hastla and @heastbistdeppad, for being the kindest and funniest Austrian guys I've ever come to know in my life :-)

Today's album 📷
(Pics were taken after the incident, Dad. Just for the records, ha!) 

Hot pepper: "Pusztagold" | Love the coloring! 

Hot pepper: "Sweet Cayenne" | What a cool shape!

Hot pepper: "Paradeisfrüchtiger Gelber" | Wow, that guy is bigger than the plant!

Hot pepper: "Cascabel" | And a kind of exhausted Vice-President :-D


Pictures are all taken by myself (in my free time, Daddy).

Sort:  

OMG..... I am famous now :-) lol

HUGE thanks & we wish
full tanks!

LOL - das neue "steem on" ist jetzt "full tanks ahead" haha


Ich hoffe es werden mehr als 15 Minuten :-D
Gern geschehen!!!

Uiiiiiii sehr schöne Bilder - da mach gleich nen Cannabis Social Club dazu auf....... Surf & Turf + Seed & Weed. Auf Steemit verdrehn ma gleich Mitgliedsausweise zu tausenden, brauchen ma gar nicht mehr warten auf den Kursanstieg 😂

Hahaha, eine hinreißende Geschäftsidee!! Hier ist das Zeug ja immernoch nicht legalisiert. Aber wenn es soweit ist, dann haben wir auf jeden Fall schonmal eine große Anbaufläche :-D

Jetzt ärgerst leicht die @surfermarley auch schon mit deinem Club auf den Kanaren? Gibts ja gar ned, haha :-)

haha - du so nah war ich ja noch nie.... schau mal den Artikel oben an. I kann nimma 😍

Hahahaha Ihr seid zwei Knalltüten! :-D

Knalltüten = Lachsackerl 😂
hahahaha (stimmt eh ned)

Hahahaha, ich fang jetzt mal an mitzuschreiben :D

Sorry - jetzt war ich gestern auf einer Geburtstagsparty... von meiner 6-jährigen Cousine, haha. Schwer gefeiert :)

"Hier ist das Zeug ja immernoch nicht legalisiert. "

Im Dialekt: Is jo wurscht - die kommen eh ned, haha. 😂

Hahahah, ja ne is klar! :-)))

Das hab ich mir jetzt min. 4 Wochen anhören müssen 😂

Aber bezüglich legal - war ja vor 3 Wochen auf den Kanaren in verschiedenen Clubs (zum Schauen).... lol

Hahaha! Warst Du ehrlich hier?

Klar - einen Moment.... such dir den Link (sogar einen Post gemacht).

Hab schon gesucht, aber nicht gefunden :-(

The Paradeisfrüchtiger Gelber looks like a tomato!

Yeah, kind of. But the plant (leaves) doesn't :-)

That's how the pod looks like when fully ripened:

She is beautiful! How hot is she?

Even though it's a hot pepper, this variety doesn't provide any heat :)

That is a plus for most people!! I have some seeds of some hot peppers! What is the best way to germinate them?

First of all you need to pretreat them. Here's an article about it:
https://steemit.com/gardening/@semillas/insight-into-the-hot-pepper-business-1-pretreatment-of-seeds
It's written by the Marketing guy of my dad's company :-) They are just too busy right now with other things and didn't post more articles on steemit.
Here's a complete instruction from our website that might also help:
https://www.semillas.de/shop_en/instructions.html
Good luck!
Which varieties do you have?

Wow!! Thank you for sending this! I took a look at this and it seems very helpful!
I have some Peruvian White Habanero, bhut jolokia chocolate, and Carolina Reaper. The burn is real!!

Oh wow, you've got the record holder. Chapeau! :) That one is for the advanced consumers, haha!
I'm happy if you found this somewhow helpful.

Benötigt ihr noch einen gute Gärtner??..... oder ist vielelicht doch nicht so gut, ich würde zu viel naschen......

Haha, das kenn ich! :) Wir haben eine Warteliste LOL
Yesterday I ate the very first ripened tomato - directly from the plant.

Which was certainly delicious!

Absolutely!!!

You have a super kool existence! Love the relationship you have with your Dad. I have an almost three year old daughter and wish something for us down the road! I'm glad you're the type to stop and just breathe.......... enjoy the waves.

Thanks for your kindest feedback, @stillwater! :) I'm definitely not complaining about anything at the moment. Just embracing life :-)
Wishing you all the best for you and your daughter. Daddy-daughter relationships can be very very special :-) I'm sure she totally admires you.

Hello gorgeous daddy girl - spicy update - major like!

Hihi thanks my dear Uwe!!! :-) Super appreciated!

Great post!! Great pictures...
Love it!

Thanks my friend!!! I'm happy you enjoyed it that way :-))

It always feels so nice being in a garden like that. Those pepper look yummy! ;)

You are so right. Half an hour in there and I'm completely relaxed, no matter what happend before... Some of them are yummy, others just terribly hot haha
Thanks for stopping by :)

Congratulations @surfermarly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Oh wow! What an honor!!!
I've noticed that I've received a lot of comments lately, which I totally appreciate. Now being even rewarded is like winning twice :-)
Thank you!!!

I love gardening!! Thinking about putting g up a green house! The sun is no joke though make sure you use sunscreen and sunglasses in a greenhouse! Skin cancer is a serious thing!

Thanks for the advices! Sure, I'm always fully protected, just took of the glasses for some of the pictures :-) Scin issues are a serious thing here all the time. I'm exposed to sun rays the whole day, so don't leave the house without being fully covered with sun protection factor 100%. Even though I've got some dark spots on my skin already. I call them "paradise marks" :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66