Dad Tip of the Day - No No’s

in #dad7 years ago

Dad tip of the day - You shouldn't teach your kids something you don't want them to do.

As I have been reminded many times by my wonderful wife, if I show Jacob how to do something, he will then do it. Makes sense right?

The problem is that, while I might have showed Jacob how to do something with good intentions, I cannot always be there to control how he uses this new-found knowledge.

One example is when I taught him how to jump off the couch and land safely on his feet. I figured it would be better for him to get comfortable and figure out how to do it safely under my watchful eye, then to try to do it later when I am not there - he has to figure out how to do it somehow. The problem is that the next day he was at a "mom's group" that my wife frequents, and he was then showing the other kids how to jump off the couch at mom's group. This resulted in some crashes of other kids, of which I could not control. Of course, my wife was quick to throw me under the bus and rat me out to her friends that Jacob's dad taught him that... Ooops!

Another example is when I showed Jacob how to balance grapes on my nose. He quickly got the hang of it, but now whenever he plays with his food, gets it in his hair or food is falling on the floor, it is always my fault for showing him that food can also be for playing instead of just eating! Oops!

23046379-4EE4-4E90-845F-B7C896F0425D.png

0334E029-8152-4287-8B0C-88926A1597DD.png

Live and learn right? Honestly, as a dad I really enjoy teaching my kids new things and seeing how they learn and connect the dots in their head as they experience new things this world has to offer... so great!

Brian

Sort:  

I like to teach other people's kids how to scream at the top of their lungs.

Oh man Brian, I have a ten month old and she is catching on fast, it seems like she's always going for the most dangerous areas of the house. Haven't had the chance to teach her too many things yet that could cause damage, except sliding off the couch into my waiting hands so I can toss her in the air a little, which she loves, and also might make her think she's totally safe sliding off the couch when no one is there! Dad problems...

Our time with them is so precious, we have to cherish every moment ,,, even when the booboos are our fault :) Great post and adorable grape on nose pic! That takes talent! Blessings.

Thanks! Yes, it does take a little talent for sure!

I've just taught my son how to safely get off a sofa.

That’s great! It is such a fun age!

It's kind of funny how someone could teach their kid so many different lessons all day for 16 hours, until dozing off and mumbling something random in his sleep. Of course the kid will remember and repeat the one thing you didn't mean to say while you were asleep, giving you no assurance that the past 16 hours of teachings had any meaning. Still, it's one of the most fun and rewarding things to do!

So true! So rewarding indeed!

Reminds me of my children.

Haha man i love children..I hope one day i will make my own family and have many kid's..P.s i will try to balance2 :"D

i always like to see cute baby... he's looking awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61904.94
ETH 2583.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57