Unforgettable memory

in #dad8 years ago (edited)

Deciding to take our #family to Disney World wasn't an easy decision, as we knew we would have to put some other very important things on hold. Truth is, my wife and I have been diagnosed with fertility issues and are unable to have kids of are own. We have tried a few procedures to no avail, and were saving for the next treatment which is very expensive with no guarantee of success. We had to make the hard decision to put future treatments on hold and give our kids the memories and childhood they deserve. You're probably asking yourself, "I thought they couldn't have children of their own?", well, I have a son from a previous relationship and we adopted our little girl a few years ago when her biological parents could no longer care for her.

While it was a bittersweet vacation in the beginning stages, we were able to make some pretty unforgettable memories. One in particular happened inside Cinderellas Castle. We were able to get a late dinner reservation with Cinderella, and to be honest, we almost didn't take it due to how late the reservation was. I am glad we did in deed decide to book the dinner or we could have missed out on one of the most amazing experiences of our lives.

Our dinner happened to be at the same time as the firework show and we were able to see it all unfold from a big beautiful window we were sitting near. Our daughter was barely able to contain her excitement and our son trying to express his feelings said "I guess kids dreams really do come true". I know it's incredibly cheesy, and he could have meant it to be cheesy but it made me tear up. I then looked at my wife and it was full blown water falls. She tried hiding the tears, but her mascara had already started to run. I leaned over to grab her hand and she said "when she was growing up, her family didn't have the means to do anything like this and it meant the world to her that we were able to do this for our kids."

While we are now back to the reality of beginning to save up for future #infertility treatments, the vacation that started out as a bittersweet decision, turned out to be a #vacation that was much needed for all. The kids got to experience the magical world that is Disney World and make memories that will last a life time and we were able to forget the heartbreaking diagnosis of infertility, sit back, relax, bring out our inner child and be at peace for 1 week.

I'm not a professional writer, blogger or very tech savvy, but I am a good hardworking father and i'm willing to do anything for my family. I'm hoping something will come from this new found hobby of mine and I will eventually be able to afford to continue trying to grow my #family while making sure our children grow up with the opportunity to make more magical #memories.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61153.73
ETH 3403.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51