Sort:  

Thanks G!! Its actually from a George Shearing vinyl album, dunno who actually played bass on it! (I'm too lazy to dig it out!! haha!) I warped it on the turntable then chopped it up after!

Yeah, that was well done! hmm, yeah, off the top of my head, I can't recall who regularly sat-in with Shearing, I wouldn't be surprised if it was Mingus, maybe Ray Brown, Al McKibbon perhaps Paul Chambers, one of those legendary cats... Sounds a bit like Mingus' blues style to me ...

Thanks man!!! You know your stuff!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for the compliment. I totally immersed myself in Jazz since a fairly early age, after I felt I saturated my ear with what is now called 'classic rock' before they called it that. That's all . Have a great weekend!

nice!!! I grew up on death metal, but been listening to 'everything' my whole life. When it comes down to it, there are very few of 'the greats'!! buggin me now cos I cant find who played bass, dosnt even say on the actual sleeve, but its from this https://www.discogs.com/George-Shearing-Quintet-Strolling-With-George-Shearing/release/3123052

Wow, that's crazy, I just looked it up on Wikipedia, and they don't even list Strolling in his discography!

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_Shearing

Considering it was released in 1965, it likely was John Levy, his bassist and manager through the 1960's, now that I read up on it ;-)

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Levy_(musician)

haha!!! Yeah, I saw that, I had a split second of thinking it must be a rare record!! .. its not!! haha! Yeah Levy was a don!!! Looks like it must be him!! thanks for that nugget of info!!! RESPECT!!

My pleasure! ...a bit of a learning experience for me too. I liked the Strolling vid on YT, it reminded me of Thelonius Monk's 'Well you Needn't', didn't think George went in that direction, but his career did span quite a bit ...

Look forward to hearing more from you. Respect back at ya!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65634.72
ETH 3493.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51