You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Journey to the West - If it rains, it's not laziness

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago (edited)

And here I was thinking this post would be about cycling.... lol!!! don't worry, you're in China, with among the best food in the world with so many different regional kitchens and dishes, I understand!!! Bon appetit! Good to see your maintenance skills are improving, I have used the Parktool vids before, they are good!

Sort:  

Yes, I absolutely love the videos of ParkTool. I love my bike setup. It's so comfortable. Carrying literally everything I own on it. Did you do a long distance trip before and where?

Not really, just doing MTB stage races and long distance races (24 hrs, there is one 1,000 km non-stop race coming up). Have done when I was young though, that would be a normal way to spend your holidays in the Netherlands where I grew up! With all the bikepacking craze now coming up, that is something I want to get into, There are wide areas here in Southern Africa that I should explore on a bike.

1000 km is insane. Do you really mean non stop as in no break? How long does this take?

there is a time limit of 5 days, and you can decide where and how long you want to stop or sleep, but the winners obviously sleep very little, maybe 1 or 2 hours here and there....

This is more insane than my bike packing tour. You did it? When and where? How to join?

haha... it's called The Munga, in South Africa. I have not done it yet, but I've entered for this November. I had a post on it recently: https://steemit.com/bicycle/@ultrabiker/the-munga-1-000-km-the-toughest-race-on-earth People do it mainly on a Mountain Bike, and some have a MTB with drop bars.

This is hard core. Unbelievable. I want to do it.

Did you ever watch the GCN channel on youtube? Global Cycling Network - they have a feature on bikepacking going on at the moment, have a look!

What do you mean by bike packing? Just subscribe to that channel.

that's what you are doing... as in backpacking, but now on a bike. biking with all your gear

I thought that we were bike touring. Isn't bike packing more lightweight? I guess there is a fine line here due to definition but I love the word bike packing. I think I shall stick with it. Just have to throw half of our stuff away. 😂

well, what is in a name? agreed, just stick with bike packing. I think you'll find out that you don't need half your stuff when you are a few weeks in....

Yes like the huge blanket we are taking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55