At Minimum I Should Be Riding 35 Kilometers a Day

in #cycling4steemit6 years ago (edited)

I finally decided to change over to kilometers, in Strava at least. I'm kind of tired of the stubbornness that leads to Americans keeping such an outdated system of measurement. I might have a hard time with weight and height but getting used to kilometers isn't too hard. Canada is just a few blocks and a bridge from here anyway. With the talk of doing distance contests on Steemit, I thought I might as well switch to the units almost everyone else on here uses. My previous minimum was 20 miles a day, which equals approximately 32 kilometers. I decided to round up and increase my daily distance goal. It can be difficult when there is bad weather, family in town or I have to work, but on most days this should be doable.

I went on a quick ride this afternoon, about 8 miles or so, I mean about 13 kilometers. I had my regular Thursday ride but wanted to get in enough distance for the day. I stopped at Rick Cycle Shop. I was going to get some brake pads but the place was really busy today. I didn't want to bother them. Almost everybody calls it Rick's. It's been around over 100 years. There are two full service retail cycling shops on the West Side. The other is Campus Wheelworks. I have friends at both. I was once roommates with one of the owners of Campus. I'm just more of a Rick's guy. I've bought four bikes from them over the years. Rick's is more an urban commuter cycling shop while Campus caters more to racing roadie mountain biking cyclists. I think I end up at more events organized by Campus. It's kind of funny but if you lines up Campus and Rick employees, you can easily pick out who works where.

IMG_20180621_163832778_HDR.jpg

After I had dinner I went down to Bidwell Park to meet up with the Black Rock King Rollers Ride. We really need to do something to revive this. Tonight we had more people only because someone was getting a solstice sunset ride together. So we combined it with our ride. All two of us. Combined we had five. Apparently nobody even knew we still did Thursday rides, sigh.

We rode to Wilkeson Pointe in the outer harbor. Not long after we got there, another group of cyclists showed up, having the same idea I guess. We knew most of them from other larger group rides.

IMG_20180621_204053843_HDR.jpg

It's a great view looking at the lake, but at this time of year the sun is setting more over Canada. It was cold on the water, so I left a bit early and rode home alone.

IMG_20180621_205824821_HDR.jpg

IMG_20180621_212347686_HDR.jpg

Sort:  

Rob, I delegated 100 SP to you this morning. I don't always have the time to look into the cyclists posts and since you have taken the initiative towards doing this, you should get support from the cyclists that can.
It's not much, but hopefully it will grow when the cycling community increases on this platform.

Oh wow, thanks!

That is one hell of a sunset .

Don't knock the miles, I grew up with them and changed in the 70's to metric. Now I use both interchangeably. I never make mistakes with miles or pounds and ounces. Metric is so easy to make mistakes with.
Cycling I always use miles. If it's in kilometers I convert to miles so I can imagine the distance.

Nice pictures by the way.

I think it's the easiest measurement to convert. I'm so used to doing it when driving or riding in Canada anyway. I guess the other one that confuses me is when recipes are given in metric. Of course, I know what a liter is thanks to Coke.

Yes I do weights in imperial. I can imagine an ounce but a gram, Is like a speck of dust.

Oh the world is going topsy turvy. Americans using kilometres :D

The last picture is real nice specially the red highlights in the clouds

It was a beautiful solstice sunset. I'm used to kilometers on Canadian rides so why not just stick to what the rest of the world uses? Giving height in centimeters is the only one that really is hard.

Haha. In India we are very confused. We use feet/inches for height. Call it a milestone, though it has kilometers printed on it. Use the metric system for weight, but most bakery products are in pounds. And a host of other such anomalies.

The legacy of the British married to the metric system has left us with a confusing cocktail. We don't fight it, just accept it :D

It's similar in Canada. I've heard people refer to height in feet and inches. Maybe it's just from watching American sports.

Hah! It'll be easy 2L Coke bottle full of water = 2 Kg, 1 human step = 1m.

That store is 100 years old? duuuuude, have they worked on Penny Farthings? haha

I believe they did. It's moved around a bit but is still the same business. It's kind of funny when newbies call the owner Rick. There's no Rick. His name's Tom.

That's a pretty big human step, isn't it?

HAHA Oh yeah, because Tom is very similar to Rick!

Ok, we have a deal, Strava in Roman numerals starting tomorrow. Imagine using it like in the video - I had to go back a couple of times to understand it.

Then I'd also propose changing Kilos to Newtons.

This is really weird seing an American use metric system voluntarily. Kudos and support man!

35K seems like a valid lap for a round! (even on my e-bike this is perfect ;) )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80