Summer Cycling - The red bricks of Valby and Vanløse

To all the people who read my comic about Phill from GCHQ - I am working on it, reading, researching and getting new ideas that mean the whole thing has to be reworked etc. Hope I will be ready soon.

Until then I am still walking and biking every day to keep well. This morning I took a bike trip before it got too hot. I always start seeing thing I hadn’t noticed before when I take photos. This time it was the humble red brick buildings of these early Copenhagen suburbs - these working class and funktionary houses are from the thirties, forties and fifties.


The beautiful red wooden gate is from a school in Valby, there were two of them actually.


Kind of like the chaotic lower frontage with shops. A bike mechanic, Kebab shop, sport gear etc. Ugly it is, though with its uniform grey colour.


Not a house you would make a note of, but still...


Old ladies were having breakfast on the green balconies. See the classicist entrances.


I wondered how the top floor flats looked like with the smaller windows.


Portholes on the wall to the left.


Classic funkis, the Danish name for the architectural style, functionalism.


A red brick church in Vanløse, not really sure if it it modernism, or just like all the other houses around it.


And from another angle.


This house is completely out of place. Looks like it belongs in Arizona.


Another messy place. Reeks of nostalgia.


An Indian restaurant in a typical Danish house.


Odd houses where you can buy model trains!


I know they are boring, but they have something sturdy and solid about them. From the time where social democrats where social democrats.


this white church is early twentieth century, anachronistically made in the style of the Danish middle age village churches. It is also the Church where my father was baptised.


Cosy little houses close to the city.


My granparents lived in this block when my father was born. it is from 1931.

8 month ago I made a post that reminds me a little of this, it is from the northern part of Copenhagen where yellow bricks seemed to be more popular. here it is: In the land of yellow bricks.

Other summer cycling posts:

  1. Summer Cycling - Midsummer night bike ride

Sort:  

The houses look so spacious and modern compared to some of the horrors that can be seen in Northern England. Compare...

Many of these types of houses are being demolished but many are still intact.

These ones are boarded up so will likely be demolished soon. I dont live in a 'Terraced House' anymore.

Industrialisation happened earlier and more brutal in Britain. We did have cheap tenements for the working class too, but they were mostly five floors buildings.

These days they are rather popular, actually, being modernised by combining small apartments into larger ones, but back then it was a miserable place to live.

If you mean the building on the left, that looks more like one of the old cotton factories that were commonplace in the 80's.

I worked in one of these places for a very short stint and lasted less than 2 weeks. It was worse than Kwiksave.

Had to look up ol' cotton factories! Yes, that is the style. This is a street as it looks today.

I suppose the cotton industry moved to Asia?

It has, by the end of the 80's many had closed down. There are some of the factories still standing and some in ruins.

I make reference to these factories in my upcoming Kwiksave Chronicles FINAL edition thats I'll be posting later today.

From the time where social democrats where social democrats.

That old, are you?

Only old enough to have known the old geezers.

Same here. I also have the same surname as, and am family of, the last real one that made it as a prime minister in The Netherlands.

I like your guided tour, it's the sort of skip-the-sights-and-look-at-the-real-life-of-the-natives stuff I go for when abroad. There's a hint of the Dutch in some of those houses, but not as much as på den Kimbriske Halvø.

Denmark and Netherlands have a lot in common. We're flat country liberals, no wonder your houses look a bit the same.

beautiful red wooden gate


source pixabay.com

Has a Japanese flair,

There definitely is a connection between Scandinavian design and Japanese - Especially Danish and Finnish design. We have the same perfectionism, the same affinity for simplicity and for natural materials - and the same solemn unfunkiness :)

We Americans are your reverse mirror image ;-)

The pretty and swag need to live somewhere - U.S of Amazing.

Lovely and beutifull churches over there!

I am sure I could find some even prettier :)

If you spot them makes us a shot ;)

Good of you to keep cycling and staying active. Good to get out and shake the old bones up a bit. That first church with all the angles looks pretty neat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72