Journey to the West - The Map

Hi Fellas, checkout this totally crazy map of my cycle tour from Hong Kong to France and beyond. My goal is to blog and vlog along the road and discover humanity's goodness and a permanent cure for human suffering. I wish to write down my experience and knowledge in a final book when I land in Europe.

Screenshot_20180605-094003_Chrome.jpg

To zoom in to the map, click this link.

This maps shows the ideal destinations of the worldtrip. I stroke out Pakistan and Afghanistan because they are of high risk due to war and militant local insidents. The route is only showing the Euclidean distance and not the actual route of the tour. The actual route will be published sequentially in my Journey to the West series. In the end, I should be able to compile them into a single map.

Today, it will be a quiet day because there is not much to do but studying how to fix the bike on the road and planning the first few days' ride. The Vietnamese visa will be ready on Wednesday, 6th of June, which is tomorrow. So, I go to Wan Chai and get the visa and buy the saddle for myself tomorrow. Then, I need to send back some of my clothes and stuff and I am ready to go. We should start on Thursday straight. Can't wait for it.

Sort:  

I have a membership to a place here that teaches how to fix bikes. I need to start going there before I start doing longer rides. I know the basics but I should learn more in case of anything more than a flat tire or brakes.

Do you use warmshowers.org?

Yes I am on warmshowers and will use it for the trip. Try some YouTube videos on how to fix bikes. I subscribed to this channel which has the finest videos on DIY bike fixes. https://www.youtube.com/user/parktoolcompany

You don't really need expensive lessons, just a good friend who knows a bit about bikes and YouTube videos will do.

Super cool ride plan and all the best for the ride!

Thank you a lot! Are you a cyclist too?

Yes sir! A cyclist, but i love anything on two wheels!

Awesome! Hope to read some of your experiences soon. Glad to see so many cyclists on Steemit.

WOW respect.. It is insane for me.... I am still waiting for my fisrt 100km but this is crazy

Yes it's totally insane considering that I am sure I don't have enough on my bank account to support the entire thing. But, as I am sure, I will find a way to finance this thing during my travel. When I did it in Japan, I had so much inspiration and motivation. Once I settled for three months in Hong Kong all of that is gone. I will not allow this to happen again. So I need to keep moving.

Thank you so much! Just arrived safely in Shenzhen in a lovely hostel! I am sure it's the best I have been so far in the entirety of China!

Wow good luck @bikeitjohn, great challenge, we'll be following and rooting for you!!!

Thanks so much for your support! I am now composing my first blog post on the road. Just arrived in Shenzhen! Gosh I love this hostel. I think I will book it for another night. There is just so much space.

20180607_222317.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65046.03
ETH 3451.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55