Lon las Cymru 0.2

in #cycling5 years ago

IMG_7270.JPG

Just a quick training update for my 250 mile ride in the summer.

I received an email notifying me that my Cycle to Work certificate had been approved by my employer and my new whip was ready to be collected from the local cycle shop.

I chose the Giant Escape 1 2019. It is a hybrid bike that has a smaller crank set on the front, similar to a mountain bike but has skinny tires allowing me to tackle the upcoming Welsh hills whilst exerting as little effort as possible.

The Cycle to Work scheme allows up to a £1000 be spent on a new bike and equipment. The total cost is then taken straight from your wages over twelve monthly payments and the bike is yours to take away immediately.

I'd also ordered a helmet, back luggage rack, panniers and some Continental tires.

IMG_7454.JPG
I couldn't wait to get her home and loaded up.

I fully intended on the maiden voyage being without any luggage to get a true feel of the bike. But with so much new gear to test and so little time left until the big departure I decided to gear up with exactly everything I would be carrying on the actual ride.

In the side panniers I stowed my Biolite stove, inflatable ground mat, food for six days, energy bars, drink sachets, dry wood (for the stove), two changes of clothes, rain jacket, a power bank, one pan, cutlery, toiletries, insect spray, sun cream and a small first aid kit. On top of the rack I placed my two-man tent and three-season sleeping bag and secured them with two bungee straps.

The arse end was so heavy I nearly induced a hernia maneuvering it around the side of the house. Surely, I wouldn't be able to ride this 2.5 miles, never mind 250!

I decided to go for it anyway. At least I would know how much to tinker with the weight distribution.

How wrong could I be? As soon as I started pedaling, the previously obvious weight on the back end disappeared and I propelled up the gradual incline towards the river path.

Digressing slightly, it was great to see the local Flintshire Bridge make a prime time appearence on the new Ford Transit van advert just after Game of Thrones finished yesterday.

IMG_E7455.JPG

Having been a mountain biker most of my life, this thing is like surfing a cloud through a sea of WD-40 in comparison.

I rode 18 miles, into England and back to Wales again following the River Dee. This route is completely flat though and doesn't really offer much in the way of hill training. Still, it was a good feeling to get out with all my new gear and bike. There's definitely a buzz about having in your possession everything you need to travel and survive indefinitely with.

I can see this being the start of a budding friendship and can't wait to see where she takes me...

Sort:  

Congratulations @x-53degreesnorth! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 10 replies. Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78