You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Blog #14] Cycling When It's Cold | Layer Dressing | Winter in Brazil

in #cycling6 years ago (edited)

One of our bike shops has a season length scavenger hunt every winter to encourage people to get outside despite the cold. It's pretty awesome making a contest out of it to get people motivated. My team won the first year. Some stuff includes riding to Niagara Falls, going snowshoeing, shoveling a neighbor's sidewalk and playing bike Polo. The most ridiculous this year was doing a century (in miles) by riding in a circle around a statue in one of our parks.

Sort:  

That's a really amazing idea, and it seems like your weather is waaaaay colder than mine. I can't imagine how cold it is to ride on the snow.

Now... 100 miles riding in circle? Really?!? How much time did it take?

I wasn't able to do it this year due to an injury. I did it the previous year. I can be fairly comfortable in anything slightly below freezing, down to 20 degrees Fahrenheit. But my rides also tend to stay closer to home in such cold weather.

I couldn't imagine doing the century in a circle. I've yet to ride that far in a day and I wouldn't even do it in a large circle. I would want to be 100 miles away by the end of that. From recollection, it took people until around sundown to finish it. Everyone would be talking about who was doing this challenge and people would go down to watch.

AAAHAHHA imagine, you have lunch and go there; still cycling. Have afternoon tea and go there; still cycling. Take a nap and go there; still cycling.

It's insane. But I can imagine how proud are those who finished.

Was your injury caused by the bike? - sorru for asking, just curious.

I was hit by a car while riding my bike last fall. I had a concussion, neck and back injury. Was in physical therapy all winter. The doctors didn't want me riding in the snow.

Gee! Is everything good now?

This week I almost crashed into a car too, the lady crossed the bike lane without checking.
I'm glad I got a bike with good disk brakes otherwise I would've crashed.

I'm feeling a bit better now but the neck gets sore sometimes. I wish I had been on a lighter bike so that i would have made it through the intersection faster.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65685.57
ETH 2613.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71