The Cycle Sessions: Flachland

in #cycling5 years ago

At last Spring or Summer has reached and it was time to get myself back on the bike again. I have been eager to get biking again for weeks, but the weather just kept on pushing this idea. Rain, rain, rain dominated the whole moth of May and the beginning of June marked the end of this. Time to get my ass outside!!



Screenshot_20190602-094128_Gallery.jpg

As always the whole principle of biking starts with defining a route to route. I wasn't too much interested on going for the Alpine scenery for multiple reasons. The first one is that I couldn't get my tires pumped hard enough as I wanted, (and all the shops were closed) which makes descending not the most finest to do, as you can easily slip away. Next to that, I hadn't been biking that much lately, so better to start with something with not too much elevation inside there, before I blow up all of my muscles and have a soar ass for weeks.


The village of Nottwil had my attention because I found out that there is a Caribbean village there, and I was eager to see for myself if I would get some Caribbean vibes back here in the middle of Switzerland. So that was the end goal, now just the route towards there. So following the Reuss river downstream to Emmenbrucke I left the city of Lucerne fast. I took the 56 biking trail which was a nice mixture of a bit of elevation in the direction of Rain, some forests even and passing the grasslands.



Screenshot_20190602-094054_Gallery.jpg

Emmenbrucke and Emmen are by far the most ugliest towns that I have seen in Switserland and they also have a militairy flying base, which allows crazy airtraffic to practise just over the city (even with sonic booms just over the city....super nice when you are in surgery...thanks buds!!). Anyway I biked along the airstrip because this was just in my route, unfortunately there were no planes coming up or down, otherwise that would have been cool.



Screenshot_20190602-094042_Gallery.jpg


Quickly I left the concrete jungle getting into the grasslands with the most awesome views over the still snowy Alps. They call Lucerne 'the last part of civilisation before the Alps start' for a reason. After this...it is just mountains! Following my route towards Sempach and the Sempachersee I started to get happier and happier by the second. What a beautiful and peaceful lake just to chill at! I saw a tremendous amount of SUP-ers and I will surely go for some SUPing myself here when the watertemperature is a bit warmer ;)



Screenshot_20190602-094120_Gallery.jpg

The Caribbean village itself was a bit of a disappointment I must say. Yes the colors of he building were vibrant, and there was 'some' easy going music playing..but nothing on coctails that I had wanted, and the food was just Swiss and not even something nice (schnitzelburger in a Caribbean village?? commmonnnnn). I decided to just get a takeaway drink and sit by the lake....waaaay better!


Screenshot_20190602-094114_Gallery.jpg

Did that matter? No of course not, because it was about the route and not about the endgoal. The endgoal is just an excuse to bike towards some random place. So all in all, this was a decent route to get back on the cycling game again for the Summer.. Curious on what my next route will be!



Screenshot_20190602-094016_Maps.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @karinxxl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.624 which ranks you at #1728 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 181 contributions, your post is ranked at #155.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78