You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Big Trip - 72km On An Old Bicycle

in #cycling6 years ago

This is a great story. I suggest carrying a small repair kit if you are going to commute long distance like that. Get a backpack that has many pockets and stash a few tools and a patch kit in there in case you get a flat.

Sort:  

I ended up taking repair kits with me on a lot of rides... And when I finally needed to use it I didn't know how to find the hole in the tire without water!! (finding the bubbles). I guess another point is to practise repairing in all conditions too :)

you'll also need to bring a small pump. They make some compact ones that are pretty nice.

once you have the tube out you pump it up a bit and you'll be able to hear and feel the small leak. The most common way to puncture is a pinch flat caused by under inflating the tires. This will make two small holes next to each other that you'd have to patch.

I top off my tire pressure before every long ride to prevent this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58269.26
ETH 3067.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25