"RIDESTORY" - Lost in the Albanian mountains.

in #cycling7 years ago

As a part of my travel from Denmark to China I would like to dedicate this story to the Steemit cycling community and entry challenge "RIDESTORY" hosted by @captaincanary.

A bit of background story: I entered Albania with a guy from Germany that I have been biking with the last couple of days through Albania. At one point we decided to get away from the busy highway(yes, you bike on highways here) and head into a narrow road leading through the mountains of Albania - a decision that might not have been the wisest.

IMG_20170711_085453.jpg

IMG_20170711_100044.jpg

The beginning of the road

When we got to the road that would lead us through the mountains, it surprised us how perfect the road was, except for a extreme uphills of 18-20% steep, the quality of the road was excellent, not something you would expect from Albania. We almost thought it was too good to be true... And indeed it was too good to be true.

IMG_20170711_085108.jpg

The deceptive road took us deeper and deeper into the mountains and while the constant uphill was hard, we thought it was amazing to be so far from everything and anyone and with the speed we were going we could make it to the next town in a day. So we decided to camp in the mountains our first night, watching the sun set and getting some well needed sleep.

IMG_20170710_193806.jpg

IMG_20170710_202713.jpg

Even turtles came down from the mountains to greed us, they kind of shocked us at first because they crawled under our tents. Asking why there are turtles in these mountains? ... Albania, that's why.

The day it all went wrong

The next morning we continued into the mountains and we could see on the offline map I used that we were soon halfway through.

Then suddenly the road became some tracks made for anything but wheels.

IMG_20170711_102359.jpg

received_1873787882939973.jpeg

early in the sudden change of road we met a guy cruising on a donkey(he even let me try to ride it as seen above). He told us with the limited English he had that we should turn back and take the main route around the mountains, basically making us backtrack a whole day. We thought we had come too far so we ignored his advice and continued. Probably the most stupid moment of the whole story if you ask me, never ignore a locals advice, they always know better.

IMG_20170711_102618.jpg

IMG_20170711_102621.jpg

A lot of times we had to leave one bike behind to push the other up the mountain together. Then go down again to get the other bike up the same way

The route became worse and worse but the further we went the more stubborn we became, we had gone too far into all this that it would take ages to get out. We dragged the bikes all the way because it was impossible to bike on all these huge, loose and sharp rocks.

Eventually the road split in two and we had to take a wild guess where to go. Dragging us even deeper into a place where we should have turned around long time ago.

IMG_20170711_103433.jpg

The sour bite

There was nothing but a few abandoned houses and there was no way of knowing if we even were in the right direction anymore. With degrees as high as 38 and our water running low, we had to make the decision to turn back where we came from, forcing us more than a day worth of backtracking.

IMG_20170711_093413.jpg

We were so exhausted and it was first time of my trip that I had to back off and turn around, the Albanian mountains truly kicked my ass and taught me how important it can be to know your limits and make the call if needed, maybe next time I would call it off a little earlier. But nonetheless it was the right call to make.

IMG_20170711_123434.jpg

IMG_20170711_085500.jpg

We eventually got back on the road and there was no better feeling than being back on an actual road, you know, that we could cycle on. We enjoyed the long ride down hill towards the town we left the other day, they did remember us because not many bikers comes through these parts and you could really see them wondering why we were here again. I got to be honest I felt a little stupid.

IMG_20170711_134820.jpg

we ended up drinking a "couple" of refreshing drinks.

IMG_20170710_193603.jpg

Hope you enjoyed my story of the road that led to nothing, Albania is truly a interesting country and i have many more stories to share about this interesting place in Europe. If you ever go there don't ever underestimate their roads.

Stay awesome!

-Holm

Sort:  

Great story! I'm curious now where the road would have led you.. But I guess turning around was the best choice you made!
And you're right: Locals always know it better, even though not all tourists believe that. I'm glad you found your way back to the small town from which you came. Albania looks great and might even be the place where I wanna go next :)

I can recommend it, it's a very different country but the people here are amazing friendly

Love it. Great story and good luck for the competition.

I am a pretty stubborn individual so I would probably I have kept going until I ran out of water. I think you made the right decision to turn around. And at least you hit a good solid downhill once you got back on the tarmac.

Haha we were very stubborn but some people would probably try to go through, I think the turning point was we started going down the mountain not knowing if it led to anywhere

Yeah that would have sucked if it were a road to nowhere and you had travelled all that way.

Thanks for sharing your experience. How's the donkey's back?

It seemed to be fine, I think donkeys are very strong animals. That said I am no expert in it but I presumed seeing multiple people riding on the donkeys that it was fine :)

Great story man! Now I know why you haven't had WIFI much recently :') Please comment on my RIDESTORY post with a link to this post just to help me keep them all in one place

ha! good for you for attempting it thou, you just never know what you might find, sounds like the perfect place to have an out of the way place that nobody would find! :)

Oh yes if you wanna get lost with just a few hill Billy's, that's the place to go, haha

Good story! It's a pity that you had to return.
Nice photos!

Not too much a pity, just another road to another adventure! ;) but thanks a lot!

Have a good trip dear @holm ! )

holm, I really had to laugh out hard right now. awesome story, you gotta do things like that so you have stuff to tell later right...

Yeah that is true! Those events just happens and I doubt even if I wanted to avoid it I couldn't, haha!

hahaha dammit. Well you got some great pictures out of it!! And now you have a good story too. Glad y'all were safe!

Awesome! And now you know. Lesson learned. Great story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59634.64
ETH 2590.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47