Cycling the world on a Steem-budget #1(a real time experiment)

in #cycling7 years ago (edited)

To travel on a "steem-budget" is a interesting concept that I started dreaming of when I experienced first hand the potential of Steemit somewhere in Czech republic, even more crazy is i discovered its actually possible. Cycling can be a dirt cheap way of travelling if you do it right and with some discipline you can get by on insane low amount of money.

While I have not been very transparent about this attempt, I guess most people following my blog have figured it out by now.

But it doesn't hurt to open up about this discussion, right?

IMG_20170717_162715.jpg


The results: zero to 500-hero

I started with nothing and my first post was so cringe I'm almost embarrassed. (please dont read it, leave it alone). But fast i started seeing quite a few posts do pretty well and with a steady and many times low reward on my posts, i eventually reached 500+ steem power.

I know, it's nothing but all things considered going from thin air to having some actual value in a matter of a little under two months is beyond my understanding. So some decent progress is to see.

Now, I have powered up every single steem penny I acquired because:

  1. I didn't know how to cash out first(lol)

  2. After the hype of trying to cash out lowered a little, i eventually decided investing everything I had first would do me best in the long run. But of course eventually I would have to make use of the Steem-budget when my real savings runs out.

IMG_20170716_172118.jpg

This one hangs on the hostel I'm in right now, a bit too convenient.


The plans and ideas of the Steem-budget

My plans for are Steem-budget is to get it up and running, or at least die trying(okay maybe not die) . How do I intend to do that you may ask? Pretty much doing what I have been doing the whole time:

  1. Be consistent with blogging while I cycle through the world. I enjoy creating my posts and I do think I put a fair amount of work into them, considering I write it all on a small android phone.

  2. Be passionate about it. I love my travel and I have also grown really fund of writing about them, if I grow tired of cycling or writing, it probably will not work out anymore.

My plan is to aquire enough steem power and a follower base to get at least a decent flow, there's still a long way to go but for every post I make I usually see a new face joining in on my ride, progress people, progress!

IMG_20170523_134441.jpg


How much is enough?

It is kind of a funny position I'm in since I'm trying to establish this while actually doing the trip. So how much "success" would I need before I can say that my Steem-budget would carry my expenses?

Well, from my observing I am spending 10euro/day, with some crazy mathematical equations and a few geniuses to debate with, that would make 70euro/week.

So that's quite a lot to ask for my Steem-budget in the current state honestly. But two factors has to be taken into account here:

countries are getting cheaper when I eventually get outside of Europe, so the budget will be lower. But of course visas, maintenance, vaccines is another cost to consider.

I see my savings as the time I have to make the Steem-budget work, but making that possible will take time so In the southern Greece I will volunteer work on a eco-project(yes I will not only be biking, that's just my transportation of choice)
After that will have to look how things stands money wise and either make a few months of work to save up or if the money still is fine, I guess I just keep going! Either ways will end up Me travelling on my bike so that's just perfect!

As said Steemit was introduced to me 1 month into my travel so it have been quite a fun addition for my travel to test the strength with blogging, adding another fun layer to my tour. No matter the results I will keep blogging and keep travelling, cause that is how I like my live right now!

IMG_20170710_191416.jpg


Thank you for reading and I hope you enjoyed it!
If you have any further questions about my travels you know where to ask!

Stay awesome!

-Holm

Sort:  

Really, good ! Please, follow me.

Ups:)) seems like you took my whale, haha!

Awesome posts you have. So glad to see Steemit is working out for you. Love the photos you take. It's kind of like being there myself. Keep doing what you are doing! Thanks!

Thanks a lot! I Appreciate your support! :) see you around!

That's awesome! It's a really cool idea, and definitely possible. Best of luck to you! Here's a little bit of support from me.... Where is Randowhale these days?

Hopefully that comes through!

@holm I hope you can make steemit pay for your travels, that would be an awesome achievement. Your posts are always an interesting read, so I can definitely see it happening for you if you keep at it.

It would be interesting to see if it could, but you never know! At least giving it a try while having fun is a way to do it! Thanks a lot man!

Inspiring post. You are a real steem- pioneer. I look forward seeing more of your posts. I follow you, however not on the bike. Take care!

Ahh you can follow me on bike as well! Haha:) thanks for the support man!

That's a really cool idea!

I will keep following you here to read about your journey through the world.

Hope to see your wish to sustain yourself on the steem budget every day.

It would be awesome to see if that really can work out! Thanks a lot and appreciate your support man! Cheers!

Cool idea. Followed you and waiting to read more from you :)

Thanks man! :) see you around!

That is so inspiring Holm!

I will definitely follow you on your journey and it would be an awesome story and case study for Steemit if you can travel on a Steemit budget!

Keep up the good pedal work.

@ronni

Haha yeah man! Thanks a lot and I will keep those wheels spinning a little while longer;)

Really great post. Cool that steem is working for u ;0) thx for sharing. Good thing u do.

Thanks!! Yeah so far so good at least! :)

Thats great :0) must be a great feeling being outside, see all the beauty in nature etc.
If u have the time to enjoy that is...lol

Oh trust me I have all the time in the world for that! Everything is slow on a bike so I get to see every flower on the way almost :) haha!

Thats great, then u really had time to enjoy ur trip ;0) how slow did u see the snails to? Or were u faster than them........lol

Only barely, I think I were racing with a few uphill the other day ;)

Its still really impressive, I would have gone of my bike and walk the rest of the way....lol
Uphill are the worst.....:0)

Giving you a follow because I'm interested in a steem-powered travel blog. What do you spend your money on during the day? What's your setup?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75