You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Meet Summer My Bikefie

in #cycling6 years ago

Cool bike, no brakes? I know it's a fixie, but when your doing 20mph + on a downhill, you may need to slow down a bit faster when the unexpected happens. (Car, animal...)
Have fun on your bike! (and get one with gears!)

Sort:  

Appreciate your concern @glennolua . I don't ride that fast and you're right , Im extra careful when going downhill. Thank you!

On the road bike, I tend to ride fast on the downhills and have been in one accident in which I'm lucky to be alive. A car turned left in front of me, a common occurrence with motorcycles.
A lot of people that have never had a bad crash don't think about it because it has never happened to them, so they have no experience with it.

Anyways, have fun on your fixie, it's a cool bike.

I'll second this. Many years ago (late 80s... yes, I'm that old) I snapped a chain while skid-slowing my track bike on a steep downhill. Luckily, I was not in heavy traffic and was able to slow down on the coming uphill, but it was still pretty scary to not be able to stop at all. If there had been a busy intersection at the bottom of the hill, I would have had to bail at nearly 30 mph (or face a worse fate).

These days, I am older (and hopefully wiser), and I would never ride a fixed gear on the road without at least a front brake. Even riding to the velodrome, I use a front brake with a BMX lever that can be easily removed. Maybe using a brake is not considered cool by hipster standards, but better safe than sorry.

I had a similar experience, actually I already have front brake installed after that incident. And this is so true, better safe than sorry . I appreciate your concern @jctdesign

Good to hear. Enjoy the fixie and ride safe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63748.21
ETH 3314.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90