Drove up to Ashland Oregon for some cycling

in #cycling6 years ago

Did you know that from San Jose, California to Ashland Oregon takes 6+ hours to drive? Well, now you know... I took the week off from work to do some cycling in Oregon as I have never been to that state before. I'll be doing a few mtb rides and one road ride.

On the drive up there, I passed Mt. Shasta in the northern part of California. I passed Shasta lake, but the turn out that I took had every single parking space taken, no where to park... (The lake is beautiful)
shastaclose.jpg

While driving up, you can see the mountain rising out from all of the others with the snow cap. There was a sign labeled 'vista point' so I took it. I think it was a far stretch from a vista point view of Mt. Shasta as it is still miles away, it looked closer in person.
shastfar.jpg

When I got into Ashland, I went for a short mtb ride. Good thing the weather was nice at 74*f as the day before had higher tems. I worked up a pretty good sweat on the climb.
strava.jpg

GPS data from a Garmin Vivoactive HR. You can see the profile, one big climb and one big descent.
data.jpg

At the top of my climb (it went further...), there was a nice map of the area.
ashlandmap.jpg

The trail that I wanted to do was named Jabberwocky which is a man made 'flow' trail with large berms and jumps (Which I tend to stay away from)
jabberwocky.jpg

The trails are above Lithia park which is quite large in size and everywhere you look, it's green with trees and plants.
This is the creek that runs through the park.
lithiapark.jpg

So far, I really like Ashland. In town, there are a lot of stores and places to eat! I noticed quite a few cyclists, both road and mtn. People at the park were so relaxed, I saw and heard a few acoustic guitars playing. (I brought mine to pluck around in my spare time).

The cost of living is much lower than the Bay Area, California. It is also much less populated and from what I've heard (from a local), the pay is not that great. So this place may be for those that want to retire in peace and with nature. Or maybe just visit once and a while... =)

Sort:  

Ashland is a beautiful place. These scenes are very beautiful and pleasant. The scene of water flowing is very beautiful. I really liked it when I was here.

We are really happy to share the journey with us.

I really like Ashland, it would be a nice place to live or retire

It would had been a nice exertion.... U r getting great with ur fitness... The place looks awesome.. Nice work..

If you like the outdoors, you'll like this place.

Great view of Mt Shasta ... I hope next time you must upload Shasta lake.

Very nice Mountain view. You are doing nice work for your health.

Read my profile if want me to resteem your post to over 72,500 followers. @a-a-a

Hopefully I can go there someday. 😀

You got a 3.35% upvote from @upme thanks to @glennolua! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

You got a 2.02% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @glennolua!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63004.58
ETH 2548.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81