How cycling taught me a valuable life lesson...

in #cycling7 years ago

Hey this is my first post on steemit. If you like it please upvote, cheers.

I started cycling in March 2016. I had tried soccer, football and basketball previous to this but, I wear glasses and my hand eye coordination isn't the greatest. On my first bike ride I instantly fell in love. I knew immediately that I wanted to race, I wanted to compete at a high level and possibly even turn professional. I set up a Facebook page where I quickly gained followers who were interested in my cycling. I kept them informed with regular posts on my page. I bombarded my classmates at school with cycling facts and information, much to their dismay. They were all avid football players and the just laughed a me. From that day onwards I set out to prove a point. I wanted to prove them wrong. I got into several fist fights and arguments with my "friends". I was always excluded from the parties and soccer games. From that day onwards I decided it was time to change. For the following months I put my self in the centre of attention, I always tried to be in the middle of the action. Until now...

I trained rain hail or shine and using a handy website called Strava I could track my progress. I quickly rose to the top ten on many leader boards and I new I was ready to race. On the way to my first race I had an uneasy feeling in my stomach. My coach reminded me that this was normal and focus on the fact that I was here to win. As I rolled up to the start line my lycra clad body quivered like a leaf on top of my trust carbon Fibre steed. As I looked around I saw muscular calf muscles staring back at me. I was intimidated to say the least. With a roaring gunshot the race began. It was 40 miles on lumpy terrain. I made it my business to be at the centre of attention every time we crossed the start line so that the crowds could see me. On the last lap I mentally prepared myself for the sprint finish. (This is when all cyclist sprint in a mad dash for the line, let me tell you its pretty terrifying!) I psyched myself up at the last corner and made a dash for it. The finish line was in my sights and I was traveling around 45 mph. My lungs screamed in agony and my legs went limp. I could hear the carbon wheels on the tarmac making up ground quickly. Then BANG... I hit the ground, in front of all the spectators. I pulled myself off the ground and realized my Giant tcr had a huge crack in the front. My race was over. With all my efforts to win my first race and be a show off I lost it all in the blink of an eye.

On the way home in the car my coach asked me what I was trying to do. I told him I was trying to win. He didn't reply. I felt like a proper fool now. This crash happened 5 days ago now and I am looking back in hindsight thinking of all the places I went wrong. I now realize I spend too much time worrying about what other people think about me, I try to be the center of attention all the time, not just on the bike. I am now in the process of trying to change my mindset and alter my personality to be a better person. I wish I could have seen these errors in my life before the crash, but as they say hindsight is 20/20.

Thanks for reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59435.06
ETH 2521.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42