My First 100 km (62.31 mi) of Cycling in United Kingdom Part 1

in #cycling7 years ago

Stage 1 :

Route Planning

It was the night of 26th October 2016 when I was planning for my first 100 km ride in the southern hills of England. As I arrived in England on 5th September 2016 for the first time, therefore, I was not much aware of the routes which I was suppose to follow during my journey from Gosport (A Small but beautiful town in Hampshire County of Southern England) to Reading (A town in Berkshire county of South East England).

I spent all that night preparing for my trip. Google map was the good option as it gives you the Cycle routes as well. I did some workout on the google map and printed out the hard copies of the route with me. During the discussion with my British classmates about my first 100 km trip, I was told that the roads are very dangerous for the cyclist in UK. One of my class fellow also told me about the National cyclist routes which runs all across the UK. I consider the National cyclist route but what I realized that National cyclist route is much longer and it was not passing through the Southern hills. Therefore, I rejected the idea of following the National cyclist route and remain stick to my plan.

After planning the route I realized that I might not be having the internet and much battery during my trip therefore I should have a standby option as well. Fortunately I was having my Garmin GPS with Great Britain Maps in it and the battery can also run almost 12 hours. So I choose Garmin as my Primary GPS option. Though I was bit afraid due to my first ride of this kind and all alone in a new country but my moral didn't go down. Therefore after doing my route Planning I focused on my kit and bike maintenance.

Bike and Kit

My bike was a newly bought, Specialized Sirrus Comp bike therefore I was not much worried about any upcoming fault during the journey as the tyres and tubes were new but still I took following accessories with me:

  1. Bike Puncture Repair Kit
  2. One Extra Bike Tube
  3. Mini Bike Pump
  4. Small Bike Tool kitIMG_1540.JPG
    Picture of my bike One night before my 100 km Trip
    Apart from bike accessories I took following list of equipment in my rucksack:
  • Water proof jacket (most of the time wet weather in Uk)
  • Energy Bar
  • Chocolate
  • Almonds
  • Water Bottle
  • hard copy of google map
  • A Gift for my 2 years old nephew :)

IMG_1534.JPG

IMG_1536.JPG
Pre Ride Checks

Sort:  

Brilliant article, I look forward to seeing more of your adventures :)

Ali this is really impressive. 100km is nothing to sneeze at. So happy you are prepped and ready to roll. Inspired stuff!

Thankyou. Actually the beautiful and breath taking landscapes inspired me to pedal on this much otherwise it would have not been possible.
I will write about the struggles I went through during the journey in later parts.

Beautiful Ali! Great first article and looking for more from you. Welcome to steemit. Happy steemit.

Congratulations @aliahsan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I will be waiting for next part this sounds amazing

Congratulations @aliahsan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome brother in Steemit. I am also new in this GALAXY of Steemit.

thank you :)

Good one. Followed and waiting for the next part ;)

Thank you :). I have followed back. Next part will be coming soon

wow thanks for sharing !!

thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 67020.94
ETH 3270.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.62