Cascadia to Aztlan - Crossing Bridges When We Get TheresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cyclefeed5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Cascadia to Aztlan - Crossing Bridges When We Get There


Since the Steem blockchain became a centralized, top-down dominated place, where control and censorship thrive, I have decided to move my content. Don't worry, though, all my posts and up and doing well on the decentralized Hive blockchain. Come and check it out!

Sort:  

Your blog inspired me to order a replacement saddle for my bike. I love riding, but have neglected my bicycle for a long time. The last time I did any significant amount of riding the saddle fit so poorly that it took more than 500 miles of riding before I felt like I wasn't bruising my sit bones.

The story of crossing bridges reminds me of riding from Pennsylvania to Virginia to see my girlfriend when we were in college. I crossed the bridge over the Potomac early in the morning and the fog was so thick that you couldn't see from one side to the other. The road is steep coming down to the river, so the traffic is going very fast when it gets to the bridge. There wasn't much traffic because it was so early, so I just started across.

When I got half way across the bridge I couldn't see the other side yet because of the fog. In fact, I couldn't see the top of the bridge or the water below. It was very disorienting. Then I heard the engine brakes of a tractor trailer coming down the hill behind me and the bridge started to shake.

The sight of that truck coming out of the fog in my rear view mirror was terrifying. The driver was able to get down to a reasonable speed before he passed me, but he couldn't give me much room because he couldn't see if there was oncoming traffic.

I was so shaken by the close call that I turned off the highway right after the bridge and took the dirt road up over the mountain to avoid any rush hour traffic that might have started up. It took over an hour to grind up the mountain in my lowest gear. I swear, every house I passed had two or three dogs under the porch and all of them came out to bark at me. At one point I probably had a dozen dogs in a pack trotting along behind me.

I would prefer to have dogs rather than trucks in my rear view. No contest.

Yeah, the saddle is the part of the bike that depends most on the individual rider. That's why I consider leather saddles to be the best: once broken in (after half a year of painful riding) it adjusts perfectly to your body. My saddle is nothing like that. It's just a 2nd hand one I tried and liked.
As for roads and adventures, trucks and dogs (and sometimes wolves) are all part of it. Scary as they may be, they turn into cool stories.

My second hand Ebay saddle just showed up. I'll have to go for a spin sometime this week and give it a try. It is a Terry Fly. I've heard some riders really like them. It looks brand new and was half the price of a new one, plus free shipping.

Were you really chased by wolves? That would be a story.

I rode right past a bear standing on the side of the road and didn't even notice it. It was the end of a 85 mile day and I was pushing myself to make sure I got on the last ferry of the day. A lady came up to me on the ferry and said that she was behind me and watched me whiz by the bear and watched the bear cross the road in front of her car.

I didn't see a thing, but I did notice a beehive near there that had a very sturdy electric fence around it. Probably not a coincidence.

The wolf-story happened to another steemian, a cyclists from India. Scary stuff, but one hell of a story!

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Beautiful! This is my home area! (Astoria and a little ways east on 30) - and I have cousins who live in the Aberdeen area. Thanks for making me homesick again!

Nice! Greetings from Vernonia! We're on the way to Portland.

Touring looks fun!

Thanks to @viking-ventures, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55