'Born to be Mild' Cycling Adventures to Elvaston Castle, Derbyshire UK

in #cyclefeed6 years ago

We took a cycle ride from Darley Abbey in Derbyshire, UK to Elvaston Castle, a stately home in Elvaston, Derbyshire, UK. Starting off in the car park at Darley Abbey we went through the park, the city centre and then through Pride Park, Wilmorton, and then under Raynesway. We then cycled by the river and then headed off towards Elvaston Castle.

We stopped to take a few photographs of the swans standing precariously on the Borrowash Weir on the River Derwent. I was glad of the breather as it was a very warm day. Unfortunately, I had lost my sun hat somewhere along the way!

The beautiful gothic castle of Elvaston. We sat in the courtyard and had a welcome bite to eat at the cafe.

After lunch we decided to ride around to look at the lovely gardens in the grounds of the castle.

On the way back we passed over a bridge. Unfortunately, what I thought was a line on the road turned out to be a rut. I caught my front wheel in the rut and I lost control and careered off into the side of the bridge. Thankfully, I got off lightly with a scuffed arm. No harm to my bike though, so all good. After cycling through the old mills we finally got back to the car park. The cycle ride was approximately 15 miles.

I had a feeling I knew where I'd lost my hat, so we nipped back in the car and surprisingly some honest person had found it and placed it on a gate post!

Sort:  

great 😊👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Thank you everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56586.53
ETH 2392.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30