Bicycle Tour, Day 7: Riding through rain and thunder

in #cyclefeed6 years ago

For the entirety of this trip I have been able to enjoy pretty much perfect weather on terms of autumn, so it was about time for a change, coming with a thunder, literally.

At morning, when I had just gotten my bags packed, some drops started coming. Initially I thought I'd wait it out, but looking at the weather cast, it was to be more or less raining throughout the day. So I think "fuck it" and start pedaling with a poncho on my shoulders.

After few kilometers the rain intensified and it was like all of the monsoon coming down onto me, accompanied with an occasional flash above the fields of countryside, followed with a thunder on a couple second delay.

And there I was; a soaking wet man with a poncho fluttering like Batman's cloak - though green this time - in conditions that must've raised some questions about my sanity from the passing cars.

But I was surprisingly fine with the situation. Perhaps that is thanks to my conditioning for cold showers - and today was quite warm still, 16 celsius. Well, that is relative; for someone from the equator that might've felt like ice age. But as long as kept going, I was warm, except for my fingers getting little stiff.

I kinda liked it, because it set out a challenge for me - bit of a mental game. What's the worst that really can happen? Getting wet? I thought we already do that deliberately by swimming. Ain't heard of a man dying from rain directly.

Food

My cooking solution is a stove, using the sticks from nature as a fuel, and while I knew that cooking during or after heavy rain is almost impossible, it was a conscious choice, because I could still eat dry and canned food - or go to buffet, like I decided today.

Now, I'm living on a budget, however, when I go to a buffet, I'm stuffing myself so full that I probably eat in front of two days. Though I need to admit: I ate in a buffet yesterday too, but that was an impulse of a moment, because I was initially just loading my battery on a gas station, but couldn't resist the buffet right under my nose since I hadn't yet eaten anything on the day.
Of course, trying to maximize the value I paid (10€), I ate so much that I simply couldn't put another bite down anymore. It indeed kept me content for a while since the next time I ate was today at the chinese buffet in Forssa - almost a 24 hour fast.

Today, I optimized my eating performance to get the maximum value and calories: couple hours before planning to go to the buffet I drank as much water in a short period as I could - this is to stretch out the stomach to increase its capacity. And I'm pretty happy with my performance: 4 and a half plates of food, most of which meat (the previous day I learned in a chat with other Steemians that meat contains more calories per gram than carbs - fat, high condense of energy, makes sense).

Maybe I'm taking it bit too far with the eating...

Back to the weather...

After eating at the buffet, I set out to a gas station to load my battery before ghe next heavy rain hit. Obviously at this point I was thinking I need to find a place to camp for the night.

After a while, there was a moment of peace and I took the opportunity - there was supposed to come another wave of rain for the whole night.

So, here I am under my tarp, that I managed to tune nice and tight so water would flow nicely over it and not form any ponds on it - then some of the water might come through.

It is another kind of happiness to sleep under a rainy sky and manage to stay cozy under a shelter wearing dry sweater, sweatpants and fresh pair of merino socks - I'm a happy camper.

Just few pictures from Forssa, didn't take much today - rain correlates.

DSC_08182022x1517.JPG

DSC_08192022x1517.JPG

DSC_08202022x1517.JPG

DSC_08222022x1517.JPG
Forssa is marketed as the city with many parks.

Sort:  

I dunno if meat is more calorie dense...but it's def a lot harder to digest. Don't eat a ton every day.

I know that one cyclist that was super famous used to eat mostly spaghetti while training.

No worries, the two buffets were the first two times I ate any meat during this tour. Before that I had only eaten 6 eggs one day, no other animal products.

What an adventure. Without the rainy days, the sunny ones would not be so special.

(I bet that friggin Haikubot gets me on that one.)

Yeah, it felt extatic when the sun peaked briefly after the heavy rain.

Darn it, I knew those cold showers would come in handy someday, don't know why I stopped them...lol

Yeah, if not anything else, it gives some tolerance for being uncomfortable :D

Probably the worst thing that can happen is that you catch some horrible flu or some shit and this is the last thing you need :D Otherwise awesome adventure!

True, but to catch a flu you also need to be exposed to it by someone. Haven't hung around with people too much :)

Chic article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

enjoy your ridefiets 1.gif

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.556 which ranks you at #5899 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 5903).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 324 contributions, your post is ranked at #115.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62685.52
ETH 2436.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51