Bicycle Tour, Day 6: Bugged out

in #cyclefeed6 years ago (edited)

Ok, so I got moving again today. Unfortunately my knee is still hurting, not unbearably, but I tried taking it easy nonetheless; changing the gear to a smaller and grinding it out instead of pushing it through with force.

Today was the first day I encountered some other tour cyclists as well; a Russian couple on their way to Turku. I earlier thought I might go there too, but decided to take the shorter route right towards my next goal - which I might as well give out now - Tampere. I'm now at Salo, so it's probably going to take about two days, until at Tampere, without crazy hurry. I can't actually wait because I've been pretty much alone the whole duration of these 6 days. I've thought of myself as an introverted - and I still think I am - but maybe not as much as I've thought. I mean, seeing all amazing views and nature and all that is cool, but it doesn't really fill me on any deep level. Nice things for the eye, so what? (No, I'm not discrediting photographers.)

DSC_08152022x1517.JPG
Got all fancy with the tarp and made it into kind of a tent pattern.

Anyhow, today's camp: I found an excellent location again, at the top of a hill with moss and lichen softening the ground beneath me - this is as comfortable as it gets. Or maybe not. Somehow a lot of ladybugs appeared right away upon my arrival and for some reason they are really keen on my gear, sometimes crawling on me too.

DSC_08062022x1517.JPG

DSC_08042022x1517.JPG

DSC_08092022x1517.JPG

DSC_08002022x1517.JPG

I think there was a grasshopper too inside my tarp, because I felt something jumping on my head, and now I can hear it chirping - two actually, but they're outside. Luckily I brought my earplugs - they have been the real mvp of this trip, because there's surprisingly a lot of ambient noise that one might not think of having slept inside usually, like surprisingly a lot of cars going even late at night. Right now can hear a car at all times and it's 11pm.

Few mosquitos got me too - how are you still here? Go back to your holes waiting for winter!

Sort:  

Them damn mosquitos... How is your adventure going bruh? Looks like you made some friends that are roaming the planet freely as well. Invite them over for Gin and Tonics in a 2 ltr. jar next time.

So far so good with the advnture, thanks for asking.

Looks like you made some friends that are roaming the planet freely as well. Invite them over for Gin and Tonics in a 2 ltr. jar next time.

I'm assuming you're talking about the Russians. Maybe I should haha.

Actually the grasshopper and the lady bugs.

Aah, right. I'm not sure how well they could take gin & tonic, lol.

Earplugs are a must on camping trips! Here we have really noisy koalas and crows in the morning.

I don't think I've ever heard what kind or noise koalas make, can't possibly imagine what's that like.

I must have missed a post or 2. Hopefully your knee feels better. Nothing can stop you from getting there and hopefully you are taking moments to sit and appreciate the totally cool thing you are doing and unique moments.

Ladybugs as company wouldn't be too bad!

Have written daily so something might have gone unnoticed.

Ladybugs are definitely cool as long as they don't crawl on my head 😛

I must either sleep heavy or already be deaf. My tour last year followed train tracks for half the route. My touring partner complained that he kept getting woken up by train whistles all night. Somehow I slept perfectly and didn't hear a thing. Still, it's a good idea to have with you on a trip. I usually carry them anyway in case I go to see any live music.

Haha, gifted for sleeping I see you are. I myself am not so, but earplugs have helped a ton.

May you find many berries on your journey to keep you company.

May you find many
Berries on your journey to
Keep you company.

                 - kryptik


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Lol, how did I guess you was about to comment something related to berries?

Though I prefer mushrooms because they provide much more energy for the same amount of picking.

Mushrooms are magical.

Oh yeah, they aren't plants nor animals. They're just their own living entity.

Joo, just meinasin tulla kysymään että millä tavalla ajat pyörää? Raskaalla vaihteella? Jos kyllä, niin siinä on todennäköisin syy sun polvikipuun ja nyt vaan jatkossa kevyttä silmään ja yritä pyörittää jaloilla nopeasti siihen malliin että ajaminen tuntuu kevyeltä. Oletko nähnyt miten maantiepyöräilijät pyörittävät nopeasti jalkojaan? Alussa turhauttavaa, mutta kun jalkojen hermosto tottuu tuohon, niin tuntuu ainoalta oikealta tavalta ajaa fillaria. Tsemppiä!!

Joo oon huomannu kui maantiepyöräilijät sotkee aina nopeemmilla kierroksilla, itse kun olen enemmän tykännyt runnoa voimalla, mutta se ei ilmiselvästi ole paras strategia näin pitkälle matkalle :D

Mut just tohon tekniikkaan siirtyny, kun ei tunnu niin pahalta polvessa.

Joo ei ole paras ja pointti siinä nopeassa sotkemisessa on voiman säästö. Pääsee pidemmälle ja kovempaa kun ei runttaa menemään + säästää polvia :D

Hope you have some ointment to apply? Do take care to ensure it does not get worse

No ointments really, but I changed to cycle with higher rounds per minute with smaller gears so there's less pressure put on the knee.

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.555 which ranks you at #5903 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 5907).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 316 contributions, your post is ranked at #65.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63156.23
ETH 2560.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83