Bicycle Tour, Day 19: I ate the wrong mushrooms... | Arriving at my final destination

in #cyclefeed6 years ago (edited)

The last night I found myself a really good spot for a camp, next to a lake, so I decided to cook a little; I made a pot of porridge and collected some mushrooms around the camp site to fry on the pan.
Don't freak out guys, I didn't eat any poisonous mushrooms - they were all boletes. But what I forgot was the fact that certain bolete species require a thorough cooking, otherwise they might upset the stomach. So yeah, that's what happened to me; having going to sleep, I woke up around 1 am. to an iffy feeling in my stomach. And that was the moment when I realized frying wasn't enough... I escaped from my sleeping bag under the tarp to first make a standard bladder emptying after which I started puking. Rip, porridge and nuts, your calories will be missed. Though maybe some of it went through since it was 4-5 hours in before throwing up.

Maybe I shouldn't be talking about this while eating chips and drinking coffee. Oh, right! I actually made it to my end destination today. So, here I am finally after 19 days, enjoying the warmth of an earlier heated fireplace still emitting stored heatwaves after having eaten well and taking an extendedly long hot shower.

Riding here, to Lieksa, was actually the original idea, but then it got introduced with going to Hanko, just for the sake of visiting it, and seeing couple friends at Tampere AND now with Steem being part of my life, meeting a few other Steemians, so it's been pretty darn good. And now I got to chill, first and foremost, and go see all my relatives here in the city - the cool relatives from my father's side (unlike those from my mother's side who are bit... eh... just read it yourself) who'll get to wonder what the hell has gone to me to make such "stunt" :D

I have a lot of relatives here, used to live here myself too as a young kid, so I think I'm going to spend a week at least here - getting from Tampere to here (490 kilometers) took exactly a one week, just exactly as I was anticipating, and getting back home is about the same so it wouldn't be too much worth it if I spent just day here and left. Imma take it easy for once.

I biked 124 kilometers today, which is actually the longest distance I've covered in a day so far, and 200 km in 2 days. Damn long distances, especially with 20+ kg of gear - not perhaps individually - but when I have several hundred km behind me, it is quite a lot. So much that keeping such daily distances consistently I wouldn't try to do. But usually being close to destination gives you a little push - and extra time that doesn't have to be used for setting up a camp.

I'll show you some of the wonders I encountered today.

DSC_0987-1896x2528.JPG
Showers and partly sunny weather resulted with a lof rainbows.

DSC_0985-1896x2528.JPG
It looked like it started from the lake.

DSC_0984-1896x2528.JPG
Double rainbow.

DSC_0983-2528x1896.JPG

DSC_0977.JPG
If you look closely you can see two adult swans with three babies.

DSC_0990-2528x1896.JPG
A so called "devil's field" (pirunpelto) - right next to the road - as we call in Finnish; an ancient shore originating as a result of ice age.

DSC_0969-2528x1896.JPG
I like to keep lunch breaks in small bus huts such as this.

DSC_0970-2528x1896.JPG
Nice welcome: "fuck you", or literally translated: "smell shit".

DSC_0973.JPG
Peekaboo!

DSC_0946.JPG
The nature is impressive here in Eastern-Finland this time of year.

PS. Where did all my chips go?

PPS. I need to get some sleep - I'm having micro-sleeps while writing this.

Sort:  

Sorry bout the reaction to those mjushrooms. But beautiful double rainbows you caught on camera :)

And yep you ought to go to the edge of that lake and see if there is a pot of gold ( the rainbow ends right there and is visible in sight ;)

Sorry bout the reaction to those mjushrooms.

Luckily no further damage was done outside of some wasted food. And next time I'll know to always cook my mushrooms thoroughly if needed.

And yep you ought to go to the edge of that lake and see if there is a pot of gold ( the rainbow ends right there and is visible in sight ;)

Unfortunately it's a scam because the rainbow moves along your own movement (and so does the pot of gold) :(

I wish I had the knowledge and confidence to eat wild mushrooms. I just have no idea how to tell which are poisonous. Wild foraging in general is a great skill I need to learn.

I've started to learn just this year. I bought a pocket book from a book store that has a good variety of the edible mushrooms and of course the poisonous ones you shouldn't eat. I really recommend some kind of pocket book because you can scroll it easier than a smartphone and identify mushrooms right then and there at the moment. Or you can take them home and do it there.
The books also usually tell if there are any similarly looking species where there is a risk to mis-identify with a poisonous one.

Just start small: look around and see what are the most common ones and pick one of them and learn it thoroughly going through every single detail to find a match from the book, for example. No need to rush - one or two common species go for a long way already.

I don't know where you live, but here in Finland boletes are pretty much safe picks and easy to identify. There are some poisonous ones, but they're usually red-colored, according to what I've read over the Internet.

But of course, the number one rule: if you're not 100% sure, DON'T EAT IT!

There are no heuristics really to know which are poisonous and which are not, at least ones you should trust solely, it's just a skill like any other you have to accumulate slowly.

I'm in the United States, in Buffalo, New York. I'm not sure what varieties we have but I assume it's quite different.

Could be, it's left for you to find out what species there are there😛

Mushrooms are so much fun to explore and get to know! On Vancouver Island we collected and ate wild turkey tails, chanterelles, porcines, and chicken of the woods. And that's not to mention the "other" types of mushrooms.

Awesome, you're living life! You know which mushroom you can trust and next time you'll cook it longer. Beautiful shots btw!

Next time wiser yeah, I've always made a stew from boletes where I naturally let them simmer for a long time so kinda forgot that frying - especially on one piece - might not cook it well enough.

Beautiful shots btw!

It was a beautiful day so it was hard not to take a few good ones on the way :)

Amazing shots!!. You did a great job. @wfuneme

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Congratulations @celestal! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83