Bicycle Tour, Day 16: Mushrooms and thoughts

in #cyclefeed6 years ago

DSC_08962022x1517.JPG

On yesterday's post, @tezmel threw me a comment:

Your escapades are making me a bit jealous! This is so cool that I think you don't have any idea how cool it is, lol.

"You don't have any idea how cool it is". Indeed, I'm bit afraid I might not realize it myself. After all, I'm quite fortunate to be able to do this.

But I've already reached a kind of a "status quo" and it's not as exciting as on the first day. Don't get me wrong, I wouldn't want to be anywhere else - I still remember how bad I wanted my civil service to end and be a free man, which I am now.

But I am little afraid I'll realize how great this is only when it ends. How to realize that right now in the moment?

But I think what should be said, is that this isn't 'holiday' really and all this might seem more romantic than it perhaps is, because I have my own routines too; packing camp takes about an hour, then I cycle, then I have to make sure I eat at some point, then cycle more, and then I actually have to start thinking about the next camping spot already around afternoon, later if I don't plan/need to cook anything.

I've been using mushrooms near campsites whenever I've had the chance - free food, saves some money, but also takes time. Though today I did have the time since I found an ideal spot early around 3 pm - a lake which is close to the main road (the thumbnail picture is of the location).

DSC_08912022x1517.JPG

DSC_08882022x1517.JPG

DSC_08902022x1517.JPG

There were a lot of woolly milkcaps there.

DSC_08932022x1517.JPG

Had to make two portions to use all the mushrooms.

I had some problems lighting up fire to the stove, but managed to do it in the end. Like I said: it takes time, and I finished eating somewhere around 8pm. and got to writing this around 9. Luckily I had already set up my tarp so I didn't need to do that in the dark.

One weird thing I noticed today, was that there were particularly lots of bottles next to the road, and since they have a pawn on them here in Finland, I've been collecting them whenever I spotted them and wasn't going high-speed. I don't think I picked even half what what I saw, but I still got almost couple euros worth - that almost buys me a peanut butter jar (the cheap brand one though which I didn't find today, because there were only gas station markets there which are expensive)!

DSC_08811517x2022.JPG
Out of context.

Sort:  

No amount of challenge changes the fact that it is pretty cool though

Haha, it seems a lot of people think that way so I think I have to take their word for it. It indeed has been pretty cool, especially when I've got to meet other Steemians.

Hello Friend @celestal! I am glad to meet you! I see that in Finland mushrooms grow up like in Ukraine! I hope that we will see on the Steem Fest in Krakow!

39875609_508655329597661_935580607352668160_n.jpg

Yeah, plenty of mushrooms here.

I hope that we will see on the Steem Fest in Krakow!

Perhaps we will :)

I went on a long bicycle tour around the country in July 2001. It was fun. I did not go camping or cook my own food, though. I did have to stop at the roadside and repair a hole in tire once.

Yeh, I'm doing it the hobo way :D because I do not have money for luxury

Congratulations! Your high quality cycling content caught our attention and earned you a reward, in the form of an upvote and resteem. Keep the pedals spinning, fellow cyclist. Your article now has a chance to get curated and featured under the weekly round-up of our Cyclefeed blog. Thank you for using #cyclefeed



Learn more about our cycling project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63022.98
ETH 2580.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72