My Journey to CISSP in Nov 2021

Introduction

Becoming a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) is not easy. Still, it is undoubtedly one of the most rewarding experiences for anyone interested in advancing their career in the field of cybersecurity. It is a globally recognized certification that validates your expertise in designing, implementing, and managing security programs to protect organizations against cyber threats. In November 2021, I had the opportunity to take the CISSP exam, and I am excited to share my journey toward achieving this prestigious certification.

Cybersecurity

Preparing for the Exam

Preparing for the CISSP exam requires a lot of dedication, hard work, and time. As a cybersecurity professional, I had some knowledge and experience in the field, but I knew that passing the exam required more than just practical experience. I got a chance to join a BootCamp offered by my company. The course covered all the exam topics and gave me the necessary knowledge and skills to pass the exam. Additionally, I spent several months studying and practicing using different resources, including textbooks, online videos, and practice exams.

I found the Mind Maps video created by Destination Certification to be one of the most useful resources for preparing for the exam. It covers the exam topics comprehensively and helps develop a good structure for memorizing the information.

In addition, I listened to the CISSP Official Study Guide audio review by Mike Chapple daily while driving. This helped me understand which topics I still had questions about and familiarize myself with the topics. If I found any topics that were not entirely clear, I would refer back to the book and the internet to revise them.

Taking the Exam

I took the CISSP Computerized Adaptive Testing (CAT), available only in English. When I took it in November 2021, the exam consisted of 100–150 questions, with 25 unscored questions. However, on June 1, 2022, (ISC)² added 25 more unscored questions, making the total number of questions 125–175, and increased the maximum exam time from 3 to 4 hours.

The CISSP exam covers eight domains: security and risk management, asset security, security engineering, communication and network security, identity and access management, security assessment and testing, security operations, and software development security. I arrived early at the testing center on exam day, feeling nervous and excited.

I took my time to read each question carefully and answered to the best of my ability. When I submitted the 100th question, the screen showed that I had finished the exam and asked me to go to reception to receive my results.

Receiving the Results

As I stood up from my seat, I glanced outside my room and saw the receptionist smiling and giving me a thumbs-up. It was a good sign. Leaving the room, she printed out a congratulatory letter for me, marking a moment of great pride and a sense of achievement after months of hard work and dedication. At that moment, I had passed the CISSP exam, and after fulfilling the endorsement requirement, I became a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP).

Conclusion

Becoming a CISSP is a significant milestone in any cybersecurity professional’s career. It is a globally recognized certification that opens many career opportunities and provides a platform for professional growth. My journey toward achieving the CISSP certification in November 2021 was challenging but worth it. It allowed me to get a promotion at work, increase my income, and broaden my horizons on different projects. The knowledge and skills I gained during my preparation have helped me become a better cybersecurity professional, and I look forward to utilizing them to positively impact cybersecurity.

progression

If you are considering taking the CISSP exam, I would advise starting early and giving yourself enough time to prepare. Take a structured approach to your preparation, enroll in a training course if possible, and use various resources to supplement your study. Above all, stay focused, stay motivated, and believe in yourself. With hard work and dedication, you, too, can become a Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68548.71
ETH 3847.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73