I'm R.U. Sirius & I Ran For President (among other things)

in #cyberpunk7 years ago

I’m just copying and pasting something from some promo material to introduce myself so please forgive me if it sounds like hype. Didn’t feel like composing something new at the moment. Want to get right into sharing content soon…

I’m R.U. Sirius. I’m best known as the cofounder and former editor-in-chief of the original cyberculture magazine MONDO 2000. I have authored or co-authored more books than I care to remember. I have also been a rock singer/lyricist (something I’ve returned to), a public speaker, a podcast host and an individual sitting on his porch in just his underwear.

Born in Brooklyn, New York in 1952, I first got involved in print-based mischief when I edited and distributed an underground newspaper in my high school during the red banner year of 1968. I went on to publish a Yippie newspaper called Space in the early 1970s and an avant-garde periodical Black Veins at the start of the 1980s. In 1982, I moved from upstate New York to Berkeley, California where I became R.U. Sirius.

I was editor-in-chief and co-publisher of MONDO 2000 and its progenitors High Frontiers and Reality Hackers from 1984 – 1992 and Icon-at-large until its demise in 1997. I have authored or coauthored many books including tCounterculture Through The Ages: From Abraham to Acid House (Villard, 2004), MONDO 2000: A User’s Guide to the New Edge (HarperPerennial, 1992), Cyberpunk Handbook (Random House, 1995), How To Mutate & Take Over the World (Ballantine, 1996), Design For Dying (with Timothy Leary) (HarperEdge, 1998), The Revolution: Quotations from Party Chairman R.U. Sirius (Feral House, 2000), and Transcendence: The Disinformation Encyclopedia of Transhumanism and The Singularity (Disinformation Books, 2015). I have been a Contributing Editor for Wired and a columnist for the San Francisco Examiner, Wired News, and ARTFORUM International. My writing has appeared in Time, San Francisco Chronicle, Rolling Stone, Esquire, Salon.com, Village Voice, Reason, Book Forum, Boing Boing and many other outlets. I have delivered over 100 lectures internationally on subjects ranging from virtual reality to radical political change. He has appeared in several films, including Conceiving Ada with Tilda Swinton and Karen Black.

I am currently working on Freaks In The Machine: MONDO 2000 in Late 20th Century Tech Culture and a collection of his music with various artists.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61143.11
ETH 2928.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56