You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You Need More Cyber in Your Life

in #cyberpunk8 years ago

I'm not sure if I'd call it cyberpunk, in the same vein as William Gibson's "Sprawl" trilogy, but I have to say that I've immensely enjoyed the books I've read so far. I'm actually in the middle of Influx right now.

Sort:  

Yeah, I was thinking about cyberpunk as a genre, and I tend to lean towards a more optimistic techno-future sci-fi with elements of artificial intelligence, power plays for centralized control, and such. Maybe my interpretation is a little lose, but at the end of the day, it's all about great content. Thanks for giving your input!

I forgot to say something about the books themselves. So far I liked "Freedom" the best, because of the interesting mix of new social structures and technology. "Thieves Emporium" (Max Hernandez) was a bit like that too, without the focus on technology. Underground shadow societies..

All Gibson's stuff are the bomb! Try Neal Stephenson's Snow Crash as well :)
@lukestokes seems like you'd like the Solarpunk genre, it's filled with grit, but with plenty of optimistic overtones (or undertones)!

Nice! I'll check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67416.66
ETH 3475.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67