Custom built Rifles

in #custom6 years ago

For years I have wanted to build rifles. Not just lego guns like ARs and AKs, but real precision rifles. I finally jumped in!

At first, I felt that there was black magic to it all. So I started asking questions, watching videos, and buying tools.....the biggest and most expensive, my lathe took me a hot minute to achieve. The thing is, i could get a new Grizzly from the same price as a older yet higher quality machine. I opted for buying a new machine rather than one i know nothing of its history. I'm happy with that decision.

So it began. The tools are one thing. Then...parts to work. Lucky for me I work for a company that was looking to add a precision bolt gun to their product line. Sweet! Well, i got to work. Proof barrels, Huber triggers, Cadex chassis.....man, what cool stuff.

My first build went SUPER slow....I mean molasses on a cold night slow. Every time the tool touched my parts I feared the worst....Did I set up right? Are my measurements correct? Am I using the right cutter? Is the action spinning true? AHHHHHH! It was almost unbearable.....almost.

After all the cuts were completed and the parts were fit together, I was feeling much better, but the true test was at the range.

Now, I have built a few AKs and heard horror stories of head spacing issues grenading guns at the first pull of the trigger. I always check headspace before running the guns i build, but the worry always looms. The bolt guns are no different. On top, Im buildig a precision gun for heaven sakes. What if it doesnt shoot straight? What if it doesn't feed properly? What if.....Ahhh, not again. Well, Im commited now so we press on.

On the bench, crosshairs on target.....breath...safety off....breath.....finger on trigger.....breath.....Close my eyes....breath.....open and verify on target.......Well, here it goes. Press the trigger and....BANG! Reload and start again....five rounds, 100 yrds. In a quarter! For me, thats amazing shooting. Factory ammo to boot. Needless to say I am pumped. My first bolt gun build was a success and is a hammer.

Chambered in 6.5 Creedmore with a 16" barrel, i have taken her out to 600 yrds and shot sub MOA groups....for the first time, i have a rifle that is precision built, fits me well and can shoot better than I can.....Did I mention I built it for the company I work for....Damn it, well there she goes.

Now, the really awesome part. My boss...with his awesome heart and sole says....."First one? You can keep it." Holy Shit! Did I just hear him right...he gave me a gun! Thats way I love this company. More heart than any I've seen.

At this point I have built quite a few really cool rifles and looking for more....what can I build for you?

Sort:  

Congratulations @dbischoff80, you have decided to take the next big step with your first post! The Steem Network Team wishes you a great time among this awesome community.


Thumbs up for Steem Network´s strategy

The proven road to boost your personal success in this amazing Steem Network

Do you already know that awesome content will get great profits by following these simple steps that have been worked out by experts?

Congratulations @dbischoff80! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @dbischoff80! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64041.25
ETH 2762.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66