a tour around the world and throughout history

in #currency7 years ago

IMG_4880.JPG

This is my coin and currency collection.

I started only a year ago.

I was fascinated about the different currencies per country and of different time line.

I collected most of these from friends, relatives and old things from my grand parents upon their passing.

These are some of what I've got so far.

IMG_4888.JPG

The one above is a 2 peso bill from my country, Philippines. It features Jose Rizal (our national hero). This was dated in 1949. pretty old huh. Now we only have 20 pesos as the lowest bill currency and the rest below that amount are coins.

Then next is a 5 Canadian dollar. What captivated me about this one is the see though part and a maple leaf at the right side.

IMG_4900.JPG

Then we have a quarter Dinar from Kuwait. It's quite small in size yet with interesting details. Below that is 1 Ringgit of Malaysia. it has the see through part as well and a lovely flower.

IMG_4903.JPG

Next is a 10 rupee bill from India, it has a Rhino, elephant and tiger in front. At the back there's Mahatma Gandhi. Below that is a 1000 won bill from South Korea in a nice bluish color.

IMG_4902.JPG

Now we have a 100 Baisa bill from Oman in green. It has various animals drawn at the back. Then we have an Ethiopian 1 Birr bill in a classic color gray.

IMG_4901.JPG

Then I got two 5 Euro bills. shiny. :)

IMG_4899.JPG

Here is an American 5 dollar bill and a 1000 yen from Japan. Interesting.

IMG_4890.JPG

Two of Bahrain's half dinar in a beautiful orange color.

IMG_4893.JPG

I also have a 50 piastres bill from Egypt. The one I got looks quite old, but the older the better.

Then, a 5 Durhams bill from UAE (United Arab Emirates).

IMG_4892.JPG

Also a 2000 baht from Thailand and a 50 dollar American bill.

IMG_4894.JPG

And here are more United States of America's one dollar bills.

IMG_4898.JPG

IMG_4896.JPG

These are 200, 500, 100 and 50 Philippine peso bills. These are old bills and are no longer being circulated. I held onto it a remembrance. :p

IMG_4891.JPG

this is a old (above) and new (below) 20 peso bill from the Philippines. the new one is currently in circulation.

Last but not the least is my favorite among all the bills I've collected s far.

The first one is a Philippine 5 peso bill that was used when I was a still a kid. this is no longer used and we only have a coin to represent this amount now. I missed this so I'm glad my mom still had one of them kept. So nostalgic.

The last one is the oldest so far, it's a 20 peso bill used in the Philippines back in 1949 same as the first bill mentioned above. It's quite fragile and worn out but still the details are intact.

IMG_4895.JPG

Then I have various coins from different countries and you've guessed it, most are old coins dating back from the time the Philippines was still colonized by the United States of America. these are all of them.

IMG_4905.JPG

So even if I still have not yet visited all these countries, these bills and currencies make me more interested in them . Hopefully I could get more especially from the countries not yet listed above. thanks for reading steemit friends. It's my pleasure to shares to all of you my well loved collection. :)

Sort:  

Wow! This is an awesome coin collection. Now that i have seen your post it just reminds me that i have a pretty unique coin too that dates back to 1752....
I really wonder if its worth anything. Any way of knowing what value can be attached to it?

Yes, you can actually check on several sites what their eatimated value is. Fascinating how these old stuff can have ao much history and value.

I am a bit clueless as to where to find such sites. Some pointers from you would be helpful and also much appreciated. Thanks

nice work!

Thank you.

Wow that's an awesome collection. And the Canada bill is unique! I didn't know there's such a bill like that.

I only have 2 10 peso bills and a 1907 coin...

Oh that what I'm missing, that 10 peso bill. Thanks for checking this post. 😊

Hahaha. But you have a lot already anyway. I can sell it to you if you want. Or I think there are other sellers out there as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39