You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CURIOUS FACTS CONTEST #5 - SEVEN things you didn't know about blood donation ❤️

in #curiousfacts6 years ago

My brother has been donating for a long time now. I believe he is very close to the limit where he will have free health-care in Croatia. He has been donating for any chance he would get. Not only he that he is helping himself like it said in your facts, but one point of his blood can save 3 people. That is amazing to know no doubt.

How long does it take for the body to recover that pint of blood you donate? Does it weaken a body a little bit? I am asking because I was thinking of starting donating myself, but with my basketball training, I am not sure if it will affect my performance or is it even possible to donate and keep practicing two times a day?

The only thing which makes sense to me is to donate when I am off my season in the summer, but as I recall, you can't just go in there and donate? They have specific dates when you can donate right?

Thank you for such an informative post. And, sorry for some many questions about it? lol

Sort:  
  • it does not weaken you, only for the first half an hour, but at that time you are eating and resting
  • your body makes the new blood in about 3 to 4 months, that is the reason you can donate only 3 to 4 times a year
  • it will not affect your performance
  • If you are healthy (and you are) you can do anything after donating that you did before. They suggest you do not smoke afterwards and do not donate if you are on your period. I donated when I was on my period and a cigarette is the first thing I have as soon as I leave the hospital :) I was always fine. Since I presume you do not smoke and definitely do not have periods, you will be fine :)
  • You can donate whenever you want, in Zagreb, donations apartment in Savska 3 is open from 8 to 20 every day, on Sundays a bit shorter. Those organized donations are a way of promoting and making more people to donate. You can really donate any day you want

If you have any more questions, I will be happy to answer them. I am so glad you are interested in donating. Thank you!!! 💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69000.61
ETH 3825.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48