Our Application for Curie's Support

in #curiecommunitybuilding6 years ago (edited)

The Power of Support

After having received several Curies during my Steemit journey, I can attest to the powerful impact it can have on a Steemian, for both their wallet and their confidence. As many of us have witnessed in our own Steemit experiences, a meaningful comment or healthy upvote can significantly boost our perception of the weight of our words. This influence has an extraordinary ripple effect as it surges through the platform - directly touching the plankton or minnow, secondarily reaching out to the community, and finally strengthening the platform that is bolstered by each individual piece of this crypto-community puzzle.

It comes as no surprise then, that Curie would not only search and reward the individuals of Steemit, but also look for significant ways to support the communities that nurture those individuals. We recently discovered the application for Curie Community Building Support and were thrilled to submit our application, as we firmly believe that our community is one that strives to build the platform in the same intentional, individualized way for which Curie is known. The following paragraphs will answer all the questions from the application.

On April 21, 2018


During a Witness Chat hosted by @shadowspub, several tense conversations occurred highlighting the need for younger Steemians to be better prepared for Steemit. It seemed that the overall mood, in my opinion, was that the general concensus was that the lack of preparation and limited understanding of Steemit policies was due to the underutilization of the resources that were available. While I agreed that there was truth to that, I suggested that we might better serve the individual, community, and platform by taking a more pro-active approach in training new Steemians. While it would be ideal if every Steemian would "read the white paper and understand", it appeared to be a more effective approach to find new Steemians who were hungry for real growth, knowledge, and longevity on the platform and equip them with the best training that we could provide. During that chat, I made several suggestions for an organized effort, decided to try to lead it, and asked if anyone else would be interested. A group of Witness Chat attendees "raised their hands" and the Welcome Wagon @welcomewagon was born.

A few weeks ago


In a conversation where a fellow Steemian was asking how they could support Welcome Wagon, she pre-empted my answer by stating, "I believe that you should ask for what you need, and ask often." That struck me as very wise instruction. Too often, we are afraid of offending someone with our requests, and we hesitate to be bold in asking for assistance. Last month, I purchased 1000 SP of Steem for Welcome Wagon, and delegated 100 SP of my own Steem to Welcome Wagon. Though I am willing to pour my own investments into this project, purchasing delegations is expensive. I would love to leave the Steem in the account to grow. When giving upvotes from that account, I never take an upvote for myself, but rather spread it around our students, graduates, and staff that support Welcome Wagon with enormous amounts of their own time and energy.

Humbly but boldly


Since we are supporting an ever-increasing number of students and staff that 1000 SP would go a long way in honoring their contribution and rewarding their efforts to make Steemit amazing. We would be requesting the maximum of 1000 Steem/month in the form of a delegation for the two-month timeframe, because it would make our votes that much more financially rewarding for Welcome Wagon members. Though the maximum request is for 1000 SP per month, if I could, I would request at 10,000 SP delegation! My boldness in that statement has everything to do with the fact that I believe in this project whole-heartedly. I know that it will continue to make meaningful changes in the Steemit platform, one recruit at a time. It would also be ideal to support the recruits and graduates over a longer period of time. Currently, we support with 100% upvotes the first week, 75% for the second week, and drop down to approximately 10-20% after a four-week period based on their content quality and posting frequency, and commitment to supporting their community. As new students are selected each week, it's necessary to use a sliding scale to make room for new recruits. As we teach our recruits to support their selected Steemit communities, we hope that as their external support increases, we can lessen our internal financial support in order to apply it to those newer students who need it more. However, with a higher SP, we would be able to extend that timeframe a little longer giving our graduates a bit more time to grow and build their support systems.

Growing exponentially


Our community started with approximately 10 members, and since April, we have grown to 38 members- both staff and graduates, usually adding 1-2 new recruits each week. Through our learning curve, week by week, we are retaining more and more members. Right now, we have about 65% retention rate that gets higher with each new week. In the beginning, our efforts were not as fine-tuned as they are currently. However, as we grow today, we are seeing more interaction, more support, and more genuine desire to form a coalition of genuine community cheerleaders. As a matter of fact, we received high praise from @shadowspub, an influential community leader who is well-known for her massive committment to community, education, curation and support. Her remarks that Welcome Wagon is the most underrated success story on Steemit can be found here.

Finding and treasuring those diamonds


The retention rate of Steemit is approximately 8% right now. As we continue to train our recruits and provide them with the tools that they need to succeed on Steemit, their passion for building community increases, and we can see the retention rate changing right before our very eyes. We select passionate, interactive, talented individuals and encourage them to stay and find their niche on Steemit. We continue to hear that if it wasn't for Welcome Wagon taking the time to pour into them, they would have left the platform in defeat. When I see their excitement and connection and talent being displayed, it's a bit of a shock to realize how close we were to losing yet another talented and under-recognized Steemian.

Growing and thriving


After their training with us is completed, they are encouraged to reach out to new discords and communities that speak to their specific passions, while using the Welcome Wagon community as their stable foundation. It is humbling to see how the graduates stay and look for ways to be a part of the vision. Two weeks ago, one of our graduates @eveningart became one of our newest mentors (SteemPeer) and has begun a brilliant job of training the next generation of Steemians. Last week, another graduate @anutu began one of the most professional looking curation blogs that I have seen, highlighting the excellence of his fellow Welcome Wagon members. Our graduates consistenly post the highest quality content, earning Curies right and left. We believe that as we grow, more graduates will link arms with us in the effort to affect the bigger sphere of Steemit, and our influence will continue to spread and ignite across the platform, strengthening Steemit as a whole.

Thank you!


Thank you @curie for continuing to support plankton and minnows! Your dedication to the newer members of Steemit inspires and motivates us to make this a community that stands out from other social media platforms. I appreciate you taking the time to consider this application @randomwanderings, and if you have any further questions, I can be reached on discord at @dreemsteem#0695. Thank you so much!


Amazing banner created by @liberty-minded


Wagon Wheels and Welcome Wagon logo designed by the amazing @penderis



CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR @ENGINEWITTY AS WITNESS

This gif created by the wonderfully artistic @liberty-minded

To those before image source, edited by @dreemsteem

Sort:  

I did reflect on the time since I was invited to sit down in the warm embracing Welcome Wagon. When I sat down I looked at the roof of the wagon build of pure love. I felt the solid wooden beams, the wagon is made of. All these solid beams reflecting these passionate members, that carried me further.

All this in a way reflecting my values and ethics. Not only supporting my work but helping me to grow.

I was allowed to join the @welcomewagon at a moment in my life in that my very own process of change - finding back to myself finally - balanced me so much, that I dearly wanted to share my experiences, my creativity and much more. Although it was not easy for me to open up and overcome my shyness. But here I am now, so grateful to be a part of the Welcome Wagon Family.

Finally home again.

I know that my vote or voice will have absolutely no value for the application process. I am aware, that also my comment has no influence. This is, of course, good so! But I had to express how thankful I am. This is not much, but at least something I can do to support this application.

Thank you for everything!

You words mean the world to me! That's exactly what we hoped to accomplish during that week! And I have to say.... I'm so glad that after your training time - your time "on the Wagon" is STILL continuing @anutu.. hehehehe We can't let you go (we won't!!!) LOL

You have so much to offer the world- not just Steemit! The beauty, the inspiration, the joy, the encouragement, the support.... you are always such a light in my day!

I'm so glad that you feel at home with us.... I'm so glad that you have the confidence to express everything that spirals up inside of you!

And as far as your comment having no influence... well... maybe it doesn't affect the application process! hehehe but it affected me this morning :) And - since it doesn't have any effect on the application process - I agree - good so! :) That way everyone can know that you have nothing to gain from sharing your words! Just words from your heart to mine (and all the WW family)

Thank you for your ever- present support!!!! I appreciate you!!! :)

dreemsteem - for our Welcome Wagon :)

Thank you so so much for all you have done for all of us! 💝

I remember back in the early days, hearing about the Welcome Wagon, and the ideas as it all came together. Soon enough I realized, this was what I wanted to do! This right here!

Helping new steemians, learn, understand and grow on Steemit.

I have to say, the time I spend, mentoring, on discord, in Steemit, and one on one with Welcome Wagon trainees, it's not about them. I have met some amazing new people here. AND all of them have given back much more than I or any of the hardworking peers on Welcome Wagon could give.

This project is more rewarding than I can possibly say. For steemians we mentor, for fellow Peers, for the sponsors and friends, and for the steem blockchain platform itself.

I am proud and impressed with the energy and enthusiasm Miss @dreemsteem brings to Welcome Each And Every Day.

@bluefinstudios #teamSapphire @welcomewagon
Small Welcome Wagon.png

@bluefinstudios, I also remember back to those early days! So much has changed, and so much has remained the same! What I am extremely grateful for - is the day that you became a part of our Welcome Wagon! You've gone above and beyond anything that I could have hoped for! All of the recruits that have come through #teamSapphire with you and @saffisara and myself have seen you for the gentle, patient, helpful (and funny!!!) soul that you are.

We - and I - am forever grateful for the countless hours that you spend behind the scenes and with our recruits to make them understand just a bit more each day about the Steemit blockchain!

Thank you for your commitment, your enthusiasm, and your friendship, my friend!

Hey, this is such a beautiful community-minded post. I love everything that Welcome Wagon does in the community as well Curie. I can attest to the support of both and what that feeling of support does for one's creative aspirations and commitment to steemit. It makes a 'huge' difference.

Thank you @dreemsteem and all the wonderful people at Welcome Wagon for making Steemit a wonderful experience and a sharing/caring one.

Thank you @youhavewings! I'm so glad that we make a difference! That's what we strive to do! But then you second-guess yourself at times and wonder if you can be doing more - you know?

But seeing all of you thriving and interacting and supporting organically... that makes my heart beam! :)

I really appreciate you stopping by and sharing your appreciation!!!!!! :) That means a lot to all of us!

Thank you for all you do.. xxoo

Thank you @aprilpeerless!!! Haven't seen you in a bit! I'll have to go check out your latest post today!

Go, you guys!!

This is amazing, I had no idea what this group was about.

I also had no idea about the 8% retention rate. That gives me fodder to consider what we can do to change this.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @metametheus!!!! I think our group is pretty amazing too (though I suppose I'm a little biased!) hahahaha

and how to change the 8% retention rate? .... Affect one person and encourage them to do the same! :)

Dear @curie @randonwanderings,

It is with pleasure and honor to be part of the WW Family of @welcomewagon. I am truly a proud graduate. I have been with them exactly on July 22 2018.

To tell you honestly, my steemit world has drastically change after. I have had too many questions and I was a bit confused too how things really works. I was definitely just trying to fit in. Then, I met the Team WW, they had quite provided me some insights I really needed (or the new users). Questions had been answered that the black and white documents could not really answer or explain in plain details.

And guess what was wonderful about it? They all did it for FREE! They had not asked anything in return nor required us to send STEEM or SBD as payment. In fact, they were the ones showering us with all of that. All of the WW Founder and staff @dreemsteem @bluefintudios @saffisara had poured pure dedication and interest in guiding and mentoring out new steemian.

I have noticed that the block chain mostly focused and centered to minnor support projects. Hey that is great no question on that.. But how about us?? The PLANKTONS?! Who is thinking about us?.. I believe we occupy the large piece of the pie. We are truly struggling our way to minnowhood on our own. Definitely we also need a little help and a little push to keep us going. We need someone somewhere who cares about us too.

Guess what again? @welcomewagon is among the few who had offered such support. Of course, with the continous growth of recruits and garduates, they cannot do it alone. This time, they need a bigger fish to accommodate us all and few more. I truly believe that your delegation support will be used extensively and it shall cater a home to many more new steemian who has the capacity of becoming great in this craft.

I humbly appeal to consider their request for your delegation support. I am pretty sure, they will not fail you... ❤

Yours,

@maquemali
#StrugglingPlankton
#ProudWWGraduate

Posted using Partiko Android

You made me emotional reading this @maquemali!!!! I still have chills just sitting here responding! No matter what happens - I so appreciate reading all the love from our graduates that have poured back love in comments, in our interaction in the WW discord, on our posts - wherever! You are all EXACTLY the reason why we do this - because this little clan that we have .... is GROWING! Naturally supporting one another! Looking for ways to interact and laugh and help and thrive! I love it! It makes me so proud! Not just me - but all the staff <3 We love to see that every moment that we've spent with each of you was SO worth it! And as you continue to grow and help others - we will be making Steemit better, one Steemian at a time!

Sending so much love to you!!!! Thank you for this beautiful comment!

Awwww... you made me teary-eyed too! 😢😢

You know how much i love this family!!! I am in your debt for what I have become today. No amount of steem or sbd will ever pay up for all that you have given to us, you just love us unconditionally too without asking anything in return.

Remember that you are no longer alone in this battle, you already have us now. We will always have your back too in all your future endeavor. We will continually support and assist you in promoting greatness in the community to the best of ous abilities.

I think that is what you had imprinted in us from the start! Hahaha and it would not come off.. 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

You grads are literally the most generous group of people on Steemit. And I don't know how I became blessed enough to have you all be so supportive <3

but yes - we want Steemit to be great - and one recruit at a time.... we will do that - right? :)

but never ever ever do you owe me or any member of WW a debt! You know we do this because we love to do what we do :)

always!

Yessss and we love you sooooooo much! Beyond the stars moon... beyond the galaxy!!

We would always be here for the WW Family.. anytime! 😚😙

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 8 SBD worth and should receive 166 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

oh @trufflepig!!!!! how i missed you so!!!!! I'm so glad that you gave me a visit on this post! :)

so... how have you been? How's the wife and kids? LOL

i hope you have a fantastic day - my favorite pink piggy robot!!!!!! <3

I sincerely hope you receive this from Curie. The kind of community you have around you, and how committed you are towards building people up is like none other.

Wishing you the very best in receiving this support from @curie.

Much love xx

Twinnieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee :)

I need to connect with my twinnie hehehehe

Thank you for your wishes! They mean a lot to me! And yes - this clan, it is absolutely extraordinary. They overwhelm me everyday!!! Truly! Watching them interact is like sitting around the dinner table seeing all your "kids" love one another! It's funny that some of my "kids" are older than me! hahahahaha I absolutely love seeing what is developing week after week! It's getting busier and bigger - but now we have some of our grads asking what they can do to be a part. That's what its all about - scaling this larger so we can affect more people - without losing any of that closeness and personal touch.

love it love it love it!

and i miss you :)

Oh wow, what an absolute Joy it must be!! I'm so happy for you and your "kids"/grads/WW tribe. They certainly are an awesome bunch and I know as a team you will be making big impacts in individual lives.

I miss you so very much too. Things are moving here. I will be in and out of steemit. My apologies once again. But it is movement, progress and flow - so all good!

Love you Twinnie xx

you know I don't mind. we will connect when it's right!!! always :)

Always!! Have a wonderful new day when you awake! Xx

This is a great initiative and much needed, I wish your group the very best and urge @curie to support this project.
Great work you folks do, thanks.

Only an 8% retention rate! That figure astonishes me. I think the WelcomeWagon is doing great things, and it's so important to Steemit. And I agree about the curation digest - it's beautifully designed.
I hope the WelcomeWagon gets that @curie support so you can help more newbies find their feet and their wings.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66049.89
ETH 3374.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63