beauty among flowers and palm leaves - Original watercolour.

in #curie6 years ago

greetings to artist and non-artist as well. today I finally could paint a watercolour portrait after some time off while waiting for materials to arrive.

Many people ask me why do I paint women faces so much, I tell them that watercolours is the most romantic painting technique I have ever tried and romanticism goes hand by hand with women as they are the most beautiful thing ever created, I usually apply to my watercolour portraits some flowers or leaves to make the woman's face stand out and I see flowers as the feminine representation of nature as such, women and flowers are the peek of everything that is pure.

Watercolour finished - Flower, women & passion.


P1320411.jpg

s.png

Pencil's first draft - thinking what to do with her.


at this very first point of the creation I was not really sure what was going to come up so I just let the pencil do the job and this face with a bit of a looking-down expression was born.

P1320403.jpg

s.png

Pencil sketch of shadows.


At this stage I sketch what it would be her expressions and the shadow lines that were going to create a more expresive face.

P1320405.jpg

s.png

Flesh and shadows application


To create the ilusion of a real skin and shadow tones I combine ocher yellow for the skin and brown and dark orange for the shadows, on her eyes I used to kind of blues one darker than the other for the shadows and lights and the same goes for her lips but used to kind of red and a bit of brown.

P1320407.jpg

s.png

black hair was added.


at this point I was just trying to figure out how was her hair moving and what colour would it bit. I decided to used a black sharpie marker as I am really confortable using this item in my paintings and allows me to play more with the movement of it.

P1320408.jpg

s.png

More hair was painted on her left side to create the ilusion of air coming from that side

P1320409.jpg

s.png

Flowers are coming.


Here is where I come up with the idea to put some little flowers and branches around her face and I must say I'm happy with it.
P1320410.jpg

s.png

Watercolour done.


This is the final result of it, I added some palm leaves because I thought something was missing in front of her so I put those little leaves being careful not to go to much to her face and leave them more on her neck and collarbone

P1320411.jpg

I hope you all like this, I'll try to make more works like this and if you have any suggestion do not hesitate to leave a comment and if you like it, resteem it so more people can see it. bless to all

Sort:  

Nice portrait @gooze ! The colours are very lovely, specially her skintone around her eyes <3 Love the step by step presentation, also !


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Your post has been upvoted by CELF. A curation project for art, literature, and music, and it will be nominated to receive larger upvotes. We invite you to our discord server: https://discord.gg/fC5jcDF

You can support us by following our curation trail, following our fan base or by delegating us Steem power.

Remember to leave at least 50 Steem Power on your account

25 SP, 50 SP, 100 SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 2000SP, 4000SP.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56