Sketching Don Quixote

in #curie6 years ago (edited)

WhatsApp Image 2018-06-06 at 1.14.25 PM.jpeg


Hello everyone in the Steemit community! This week I was thinking about which books of Hispanic literature have been adapted to the cinema and I came to the conclusion that Don Quixote has never been taken to the big screen. I investigated and effectively confirmed my suspicions. The Gentleman of La Mancha has been adapted into plays, musicals and has been mimicked in television series only.

In all this Quixote situation, I wanted to contribute something to the most translated book of the Spanish language (after the bible) and I decided to make a fan-art of the character in digital and record the whole illustration process that I did; first in an artisanal way in my sketchbook and then in the digitized version. I hope you like the video!

Did you see the video of the process? In that case, great! This drawing below was from my sketch for the final artwork and right down I leave the illustration of Quixote without the background.

IMG_20180529_111723 (1).jpg

don quijote2.png

Did you know this about Don Quixote de la Mancha?

The ingenious gentleman Don Quixote de la Mancha is the main literary exponent of the Spanish language and was written while the Spaniard, Miguel de Cervantes Savedraa, was in jail.

Despite his great influence on the literature and the success that caused, Cervantes didn’t get monetary rewards for the publication of his novel.

Although it seems unbelievable, nobody have been able to take it to the cinema.

There have been many attempts to adapt Don Quixote novel to the cinema, however this task has been impossible thing to do, there are those who say that the work is cursed.

This work changed the way of seeing the Spanish language and, according to many experts, revolutionized it

For this and more I dedicate my illustration and its process to Cervantes and Don Quixote, also to the users that supported me with previous publications too. To the writer and his real work, I say thank you today from the bottom of my heart for leaving this gift to the Spanish language and to humanity.

"Creativity is a drug I cannot live without".
Cecil B. Demille.

1-divisorio.png

Thanks for your time. Remember giveme your Upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61227.58
ETH 3437.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56